the Little Red Reviewer

The Best of 2018

Posted on: December 28, 2018

As always, my “best of the year” is the best stuff I consumed this year.  It may not have been created this year, but I read it or watched it this year.

My favorite novels that I read in 2018

Revenant Gun by Yoon Ha Lee

The Monster Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson

Latchkey by Nicole Kornher-Stace

Foundryside by Robert Jackson Bennett

The Scar (reread) by China Mieville

Borne by Jeff Vandermeer

Nova by Samuel Delany

 

 

My favorite short stories, novellas, and novelettes that I read in 2018. Huh. I read a lot of short stuff in 2018!  and a lot of really good short stuff!

The Tea Master and the Detective by Aliette de Bodard

Acadie by Dave Hutchinson

Artificial Condition by Martha Wells

The Inconvenient God by Francesca Forrest

Time Was by Ian McDonald

“Monologue by an unnamed mage, recorded at the brink of the end” by Cassandra Khaw, Uncanny Magazine

“On the Day You Spend Forever with Your Dog”, by Adam Shannon, Apex Magazine

 

 

My favorite science fiction movies of 2018

Annihilation, starring Natalie Portman

Bird Box (on Netflix), starring Sandra Bullock

(honorable mention to Arrival and Interstellar, because I watched them both about 20 times while we had Amazon Prime in 2018)

 

As 2018 wraps up,  2019 is already looking to be amazing.  Because, this.

9 Responses to "The Best of 2018"

Oooh, great list. I mean, how can The Scar not make it on, every single time you read it. 🙂 I was also a HUGE, RAGING fan of Murderbot, and that series will definately make my top of 2018 list as well. Happy reading for 2019!

Liked by 1 person

I really enjoyed Time Was. Still thinking about it.

Liked by 1 person

Foundryside is on my favorites list too.. 😊😊
Nice choices!!!

Liked by 1 person

These all look great!! I’m really interested in reading Time Was and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it! And I also loved Annihilation this year 😊

Liked by 1 person

Interesting list! I’ve not read any of those but I’ve watched Annihilation!

Like

Loved that movie!!! the movie is very different from the book, but they did an amazing job taking scenes from the book that would never have worked onscreen, and making them work.

Like

Yesss to Baru! It was such a different book to Traitor but I love how the scope’s gotten bigger and I can’t wait to see how the Cancrioth plotline plays out in book 3. And the Apparitor is amazing. 😀

I was hoping to check out Foundryside before the end of 2018, but it looks like it’ll be pushed back to January. Here’s to a wonderful 2019! ❤

Like

i loved that too! as Baru’s “head-map” gets bigger (i’m sure there is a better word, my brain is still asleep), the scope of her world gets bigger. The whole Cancrioth thing had me holding my breath the entire time! I want to reread this book so I can write a better review of it. Can not WAIT until book 3!

Like

I haven’t read any of these, I’ll have to check them out! I agree on Annihilation and Bird Box though, I enjoyed both of those 🙂

Here are my top novels from 2018:
https://jeviscachee.com/2018/12/24/2018-reflections-novels/

Liked by 1 person

join the conversation

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,603 other subscribers
Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Archives

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.