the Little Red Reviewer

The Biggest Announcement This Blog Has Ever Seen!

Posted on: December 1, 2018

Remember those tweets about a sooper seekrit project I was working on? Did you get a “you may be right, I may be crazy” e-mail from me?

Well, I can finally talk about it, and you can too!

 

In January of 2019, I’ll be running a Kickstarter for a print book of The Best of Little Red Reviewer. This volume will contain my best reviews of the last eight years. I’m excited and kind of terrified!

 

Currently,  my reviews exist only on this website. When the internet evolves into something new, when blogging is no longer a thing, my work will cease to exist. But will it cease to have value? This kickstarter is a viability project to see not only if my reviews have value outside the internet, but if the products of the blogosphere have value outside the internet.

The Best of Little Red Reviewer started out as a crazy 3am idea, and when I told a few people about it, they didn’t think it was crazy at all.  So I figured, why not?

The Best of Little Red Reviewer will contain the work I’m most proud of. It will be a reflection of who I am as a reviewer. Can you find all that same stuff on my blog? Of course you can. Have you scrolled through my review index lately? Good luck figuring which reviews are worth reading.

 

I will be asking for $5000 to cover the costs of copy editing, interior book layout & design, cover art, printing, and shipping supplies. There might even be a few hundred bucks in there for a snazzy Kickstarter video.

a pledge of $15 gets you the print book.

pledges of $35 will get you things like a customized book, or writing the introduction to your favorite review.

Until the end of January I’ll be all over the internet talking about this project and asking you to pledge your $15 or your $35 or your whatever to help make The Best of Little Red Reviewer a thing that exists!

 

I’ll be posting all over the place over the next two months to promote this project. If you like my blog, but really don’t want to hear about this project, this is your cue to mute me on twitter and unsubscribe to my blog updates.

 

See that fancy new “The Best of LRR Kickstarter!” tab up top?  As I do guest posts and interview and other fun promotion posts, I’ll link to them on that page.   Updates posted to the Kickstarter site, will also be posted to that page.

 

I’m excited.

I’m terrified.

What if this is a terrible idea?

What if is a brilliant idea, it funds beyond my wildest dreams, and suddenly I have 50 boxes of books being delivered to my apartment? (Dear delivery guy: I’m sorry!)

What if this starts a trend of other bloggers doing the same thing with their best work?  (actually,  that sounds like the best thing ever)

 

 

8 Responses to "The Biggest Announcement This Blog Has Ever Seen!"

I love this idea, Andrea, and I hope your Kickstarter is beyond successful! Looking forward to hosting you soon😁

Like

Good luck, I hope it works out.

Like

I’m looking forward to supporting the kickstarter.

Like

I think it’s a great idea!!

Like

So excited for you!

Like

I think it’ll be a great success.
Looking forward to our chat.
Lynn 😀

Like

[…] My name is Andrea Johnson, I run the science fiction and fantasy book review blog The Little Red Reviewer. In the eight years since I started the site, I’ve written over 400 reviews. I was a […]

Like

[…] I’m delighted to welcome to my blog Andrea from the Little Red Reviewer. I’ve discovered so many books over the years from Andrea’s reviews that have turned […]

Like

join the conversation

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,603 other subscribers
Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Archives

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.