the Little Red Reviewer

Anime Midwest photo dump continues (post 3 of ?)

Posted on: July 13, 2014

In the last two posts, I mostly showed photos of Japanese manga, anime, live action tv, and video games.  There were plenty of people cosplaying western comic book, movie, and video game characters as well!  see?

 

Raven, Robin and Starfire from Teen Titans!

Raven, Robin and Starfire from Teen Titans!

 

Merida from Brave.

Merida from Brave.

 

Even Doctor Who and the Daleks made and appearance!  I was able to catch up with one of the Elevens (I saw at least 3 of them) as he battled a Dalek-head. This guy, oh man did he have the physical mannerisms down!  Acting the part takes the cosplay to a whole new level!  (and yes, there was a number ten, but I couldn’t get close enough to get a photo)

it's The Doctor!

it’s The Doctor!

 

Too fun to watch!

Too fun to watch!

 

Batman fighting ummm, a tall steampunk guy?

Batman fighting ummm, a tall steampunk guy?

The TV show Rwby showed on CrunchyRoll, but it was an American made show.  These ladies had all the details just right:

Ruby and Yang Xiao from Rwby

Ruby and Yang Xiao from Rwby

 

 

Also, Crossplay Ruby? Oh yeah!

Crossplay Ruby FTW.

Crossplay Ruby FTW.

 

From American video games:

 

These stilts are 100% functional. By the time I got his picture, he’d been bouncing around most of the day. Poor guy was just dripping in sweat.

A Portal 2 test subject.

A Portal 2 test subject.

 

Also from Portal:

Cave Johnson!

Cave Johnson!

From Bioshock:

Spider Slicers from Bioshock

Spider Slicers from Bioshock

 

 

I don’t watch the kids show Adventure time, but someone said Flame Princess is from that show?  Because of her incredible wig, everyone wanted to photograph her. The oven mitt was a nice touch, as she’s too hot to even touch herself!

Flame Princess. Wins for best hair.

Flame Princess. Wins for best hair.

 

And it wouldn’t be a convention if there wasn’t at least one Rainbow Dash, right?

the cutest Rainbow Dash like, evar.

the cutest Rainbow Dash like, evar.

 

Did Star Wars make an appearance?  Why yes, yes they did.

I had friends on that Deathstar!

I had friends on that Deathstar!

 

Commander Riker did too.  This guy was a blast to chat with. He had the poses down just perfect.

Commander Riker

Commander Riker

The famous steampunk band Steam Powered Giraffe did a concert, and wow do they have a huge following!   A bunch of people I got chatting with said they follow Steam Powered Giraffe around the midwest, signing up for conventions like this just to attend the concert.  SPG’s followers will often dress up, known as FanBots:

Fanbots taking a break

Fanbots taking a break

 

A fanbot and a, puppetbot?

A fanbot and a, skullpuppetbot?

 

Had I know western characters would be so commonplace, I’d have worn my Sabetha Belacoros outfit. Next year for sure!

that’s about it for photos,  I need to write up about some of the amazing panels and events I saw!!

8 Responses to "Anime Midwest photo dump continues (post 3 of ?)"

Why is Dr. Who wearing a fez?

Like

because Fezzes are cool.

Like

I love the spider slicers – they look like they mean business!
Lynn 😀

Like

i know, scary, right?

Like

Whatsa Rainbow Dash???

Like the Portal 2 guy but there’s Luffy and Nami from One Piece in the background 😛

And that’s the best looking Robin I’ve ever seen. I just hope that’s a girl now 0_0

Like

Rainbow Dash is from My Little Pony. 😀

I learned pretty quick not to make any assumptions about anyone’s gender at this convention.

Like

I used to have a fez. What happened to my fez? *sigh*

Like

join the conversation

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,603 other subscribers
Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Archives

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.