the Little Red Reviewer

Equoid, a Laundry Novella, by Charles Stross (Hugo Nom)

Posted on: July 26, 2014

You can read Equoid over at Tor.com! and I should have mentioned in my earlier review of Wakulla Springs that that novella is available to read over at Tor.com as well.

 

If you’ve enjoyed any of Stross’s Laundry novels, you’re sure to get a kick out of this novella. Oh, you haven’t read any of his Laundry novels? In that case you might feel a little lost (until of course, Bob gives you some background. Then you’ll be fine). Also, you are missing out on some hella fun novels. Here’s the gist of the world: The right mathematical equations call up Cthonic horrors from the deep, and   a  British secret agency exists to make sure that doesn’t happen. Bob Howard is an involuntary agent for the Laundry (because really, does anyone have a childhood dream of growing up to face unspeakable soul destroying horrors?), and even after years on the job he still gets the shit work.

 

One thing I love about the Laundry novels is the narrative voice. It’s what I’ve come to call “The Stross Sentence”, where many passages start out completely normal, but conclude in a sotto voce that’s purposely scathingly sarcastic. I’m that reader who just can’t get enough of that.

 

So anyway, the novella.  It’s about unicorns. And H.P. Lovecraft’s previously unpublished rambling letters that prove (again) just how dangerous a little bit of knowledge can be.  Bob’s newest assignment takes him out to a muck filled country horse breeding farm, where he’s to investigate some kind of animal health issue? Something involving a, erm, infestation?

Infestation indeed, and these are not the unicorns of kiddie cartoons. For once, Lovecraft knew what he was talking about,  because he’d stood right in front of one, and somehow lived to tell about it.  Bob gets out to the farm, and while his fixer seems to be on the level, everyone else is acting decidedly odd, but Bob can’t quite put his finger on what’s going on out here. As he reads through more of Lovecraft’s letters and diary entries, Bob begins to put the pieces together, and wonders if it’s not too late to call for back up. Besides, it’s just a farm. Out in the middle of nowhere. What could possibly go wrong?

 

Equoid is fast paced,  strongly written, darkly funny, and made me laugh out loud more than once while reading it.  It’s not a comedy by any stretch of the imagination, but the way everyone plays it like this kind of stuff happens everyday struck me as hilarious. Especially when I knew something horrific and disgusting and squicky was going to happen any moment now. Even when it got creeptastically disgusting. Even when I couldn’t stop biting my nails because I was pretty sure Bob wasn’t going to make it. Even when I identified the  “bad guy” before Bob did. I mean, it was pretty obvious, wasn’t it?

 

This is one of my favorite novellas in the group because this is the type of thing I really enjoy reading. Gallows humor, snarky characters, ridiculous weapons, the cross section of mathematics and creatures from another dimension who expect us to worship them. Reading “Equoid” made me want to pull my Laundry  novels down off the shelf and reread them, and if that’s not a ringing endorsement I don’t know what is.
And come on, don’t you want to know where baby unicorns come from? To hear little Hetty tell it, when a mommy horse and a daddy love each other very much. . .

7 Responses to "Equoid, a Laundry Novella, by Charles Stross (Hugo Nom)"

How would you say this story compares to either The Atrocity Archives or The Fuller Memorandum?

Like

Style wise, I’d say it’s closer to Fuller Memorandum and I only say that because I feel Stross’s writing has improved leaps and bounds since AA came out. Equoid focuses on one assignment and is heavy on the action and dialog and lighter on the mathematics and character background than the longer novels. I think chronologically this one comes before Fuller Memorandum.

Like

I enjoyed the heck out of Equoid myself. I’m a huge fan of The Laundry novels, so maybe it wasn’t much of a surprise.

Bob’s voice and the combination of banality and utter horror is one of the best done aspects of The Laundry in general. Not to mention the way Stross uses what should be “common” mythological creatures in new and terrifying ways.

Like

“the combination of banality and utter horror” that is the perfect descriptor! As a fellow Laundry fan, what are your thoughts on if all the books/novellas need to be read in order, or if a reader could bounce around and be ok?

Like

I think you can bounce around. However, I tend to read them in order because I enjoy the developing relationship timeline between him and his SO.

That’s just personal preference though. Charlie does a darned good job at making sure that there’s enough information in each book that they can stand on their own.

The novellas and shorts definitely work on their own. His Christmas short is one of my favorites.

Like

[…] Equoid, a Laundry Novella, by Charles Stross (Hugo Nom) (littleredreviewer.wordpress.com) […]

Like

Sorry, but, uh… Who was the bad guy? Or are you just talking about old Shub Shub Shub?

Like

join the conversation

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,603 other subscribers
Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Archives

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.