the Little Red Reviewer

Vintage-y goodness around the blogosphere!

Posted on: January 20, 2014

people have been posting Vintage SciFi reviews and discussions all over the place!   While I’m battling airport traffic today, you should enjoy these links to Vintage SciFi goodness all over the blogopshere!   it’s like a giftbox of chocolate truffles. where do I start?  with the caramel? with the white chocolate? with that sparkly one?

Found a link I missed?  Post it in the comments and I’ll update the list as soon as I can.

Howling Frog Books offers up a selection of reviews, including Rendezvous with Rama, by Arthur C. Clark, We, by Yevgeny Zamyatin, The Demolished Man, by Alfred Bester, and Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said, by Philip K. Dick.

Sheila Williams has a heartfelt editorial in Asimov’s about remembering Frederik Pohl

My Readers Block reviews Dangerous Visions #3, edited by Harlan Ellison and including short stories by Theodore Sturgeon, Roger Zelazny, Norman Spinrad, J. G. Ballard, and more, and Angels and Spaceships by Fredric Brown

Books Without Any Pictures reviews The Gods of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs, with some great cover art!! Also a great review of Flatland by Edwin Abbot.

Lynn’s Book Blog reviews Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes

50 Year Project reviews The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

Genre-Bending discusses The Dying Earth by Jack Vance

Some timely posts on SFSignal recently, one on Reading More Older SFF, and another on LGBT Science Fiction and Fantasy in the 1970s

I can always count on Science Fiction and Other Suspect Ruminations for Vintage goodies. In the past week he’s posted an extensive cover art gallery, and a review of A Funeral for the Eyes of Fire  by Michael Bishop.

AQ’s Reviews discusses Marooned on Mars by Lester Del Rey

I Read Therefore I Am discusses The Day of The Triffids by John Wyndham

12 Responses to "Vintage-y goodness around the blogosphere!"

Thanks for the mention! Hope airport traffic cooperates.

Like

I did a post as well over here. Take care!

Like

Thanks Andrea! I’ve added it above. What a brilliant name for your blog, btw! 😀

Like

Thanks for the shoutout and I hope airport traffic behaves–as much as it can.

Like

Hey, thanks for mentioning me! This has been really fun. I am now starting Dune–can you believe I’ve never read it? I am a terrible SF fan.

Like

oh you are in for a treat! that’s one of my all time favorite science fiction books, and probably the one I’ve reread the most times since discovering it.

Like

Good luck with the airport. Safe travels!

Like

Thanks for travel good wishes everyone, flights were on time, weather cooperated.

Northern California, I am in you. now . . . to find the bookstores! 😀

Like

Oh! My first blog post a month ago was very retro. My Heinlein favourites. http://geekgirlreview.com/2013/12/26/my-first-love/ great references here, thank you.

Like

I’ve read Roadside Picnic by Arkady and Boris Strugatsky for the event! http://irrelevant-scribble.blogspot.cz/2014/01/roadside-picnic-by-arkady-and-boris.html

Like

[…] late than never, I guess. January is the Vintage Science-Fiction Non-Challenge month hosted by Little Red Reviewer. I had intended to read a few more vintage sci-fi novels during […]

Like

I finally got around to my post on Fantastic Voyage.

Review: Fantastic Voyage by Isaac Asimov

Like

join the conversation

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,604 other subscribers
Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Archives

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.