the Little Red Reviewer

A Hat Full of Sky read Along, part 3

Posted on: March 27, 2013

I can’t believe we’re almost to the end!ย  such a wonderful ride it’s been!

here’s this week’s discussion questions, and remember to leave your link in the comments so I can visit your blog for your answers. ๐Ÿ™‚

I got a chuckle out of Tiffany’s visit to ZakZak’s shop, especially the bit about the different styles of witch hats. What kind of witchy goodies would YOU buy there?

Inside Tiffany’s head might be the strangest place the Feegle have ever been. What did you think of Pratchett’s imagery of her mind, and of her safe place?

Poor Miss Level. Do you think she’ll ever recover from what happened to her? How is this going to change her relationship with Tiffany?

In the discussion Tiffany has with Mistress Weatherwax at the end of chapter 9, Weatherwax gives Tiffany some very important information about how to be a witch. Who would you rather study with to become a witch? Weatherwax or Level?

Any thoughts on how the story might end? Do you think the Hiver is gone for good?

I got a chuckle out of Tiffany’s visit to ZakZak’s shop, especially the bit about the different styles of witch hats. What kind of witchy goodies would YOU buy there?

ha, I’d let my goth flag fly and buy way too much awesome black clothes. black with silver trim!ย  Also a rockin’ witchy hat, perhaps the FrizzBeGone (guaranteed not to give hat-hair, even in 90% humidity).

Inside Tiffany’s head might be the strangest place the Feegle have ever been. What did you think of Pratchett’s imagery of her mind, and of her safe place?

I loved this part so much. It was so very Tiffany. Of course her safe place would connect her with The Chalk and with Granny Aching. Where else has she ever felt so safe, where else has she ever felt she could be herself? I also liked that quick little conversation between Rob and Awf’ly Wee Billy, how Billy doesn’t know anything about being in the wee hag’s head, and Rob tells him since he’s the first to do it, he already knows more than anyone else.

Poor Miss Level. Do you think she’ll ever recover from what happened to her? How is this going to change her relationship with Tiffany?

I think they are going to be nervous around each other for a long time. Even though Miss Level seems to get a bit of her “magic” back, she’s always going to connect her loss with Tiffany. And Tiffany knows what happened wasn’t her fault, but she was so directly involved with it. . . yeah, they’re going to be on pins and needles with each other for a while.
In the discussion Tiffany has with Mistress Weatherwax at the end of chapter 9, Weatherwax gives Tiffany some very important information about how to be a witch. Who would you rather study with to become a witch? Weatherwax or Level?

I’ll take a few semesters with both, please. Miss Level can show me the importance of seeing exactly what the members of my community needs and making sure it happens, and Mistress Weatherwax can teach me the confidence so I can voice to the capable members of the community how to help themselves. Miss Level gives me fish, Weatherwax teachers me how to fish (even though I’d cut myself on the hooks all the time). I think Weatherwax knows she just doesn’t have the personality to do what Level does, but she knows the world needs witches like Miss Level. Would be a pretty grim place indeed if every witch was like Mistress Weatherwax or even Mrs. Earwig.

Any thoughts on how the story might end? Do you think the Hiver is gone for good?

I hope Tiffany gets to go back to the Chalk andย  be near her family. Wouldn’t that be the best place for her to learn witchcraft?ย  The Hiver is gone from Miss Level’s property, but I don’t think it’s gone for good!

7 Responses to "A Hat Full of Sky read Along, part 3"

[…] week’s questions are provided by Andrea at Little Red Reviewer so stop on over and take a look and also don’t forget to call in at Dab of Darkness to check […]

Like

I also wanted a bit of time with both witches – I thought perhaps I was being greedy there so it’s nice to see someone having a similar thought! I think we were all onto the right track last week about why Tiffany was put with Miss Level – which was basically to help her to care about people.
Lynn ๐Ÿ˜€

Like

Okay, how many times is it possible for me to post a comment without actually posting a link! Questions on a postcard to absentmindeddotcom
http://lynnsbooks.wordpress.com/2013/03/27/a-hatful-of-sky-by-terry-pratchett-readalong-week-3/
๐Ÿ˜€

Like

I found it interesting to see Rob actually be an effective leader. Up until now I was uncertain about how he had qualified to be the Big Man.

I agree with you that things are going to be a little strained between Tiffany and Miss Level after this, however, I don’t think this will be a huge problem as Tiffany has probably learnt her most important lesson here anyway and will now move on.

Like

I did put up my answers (http://tethyanbooks.blogspot.fr/2013/03/read-along-part-3-of-hat-full-of-sky.html?showComment=1364738279154#c8753356033056130141) but then got ambushed by Easter preparations and have only now gotten a chance to comment on everyone’s responses!

The FrizzBeGone hat sounds great, I usually try not to wear hats for just that reason! I think I would need Miss Level as a teacher. I was always the kid that was easy to discipline, because all it took was a disapproving look to make me panic and start trying to make amends. I think Miss Weatherwax’s style would have terrorized 11-year-old me.

Like

join the conversation

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,603 other subscribers
Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Archives

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.