the Little Red Reviewer

I library-ed!

Posted on: November 7, 2020

It’s been so long since my last blog post that I forgot that the block editor was a thing.

 

thank god for “classic editor”, am I right?

 

This past week’s excitement aside, I’ve been really itching to do . . .  well . .   anything.  My city isn’t in lockdown, but not a lot is open.  Retail shopping has lost all joy, it’s shop alone and get in, get what you need, get out, no browsing, no trying on clothes. Every going to the bookstore is just depressing.

I needed something to get me out of the house, I needed something a little different, and I needed something that wouldn’t socially burn out introvert me.

So I signed up to volunteer with Meals on Wheels,  and I renewed my library card.

I used to be at the library all the freakin time!  I’d go to my local library every other weekend, and then on the other weekends I’d go to the library in the next town!  And then I got into blogging, and got into ARCs and had more books than I knew what to do with, and then I also found really good used bookstores and then my finances were finally such that I could afford to buy books new when I wanted them, and I also have a local group of book-ish friends and we are often sharing books back and forth.  so my library card expired and I didn’t even realize it.

I called the library earlier this week, to see what the policies were about getting my card renewed. They looked my up in their computer, and I wasn’t there.

It had been so long since I used my library card, that I wasn’t even in their computer anymore! That was embarrassing!  But? they said just come on in, and we’ll give you a new card.

So this morning, I did!  and five minutes later, I had a new library card account.

You know what I love about the library?  Every step, every aisle feels like a surprise.  What books are down this row? you won’t know unless you look!  what books are on that shelf? guess you’ll have to look to find out!   what’s on the “we recommend” shelf?  It changes every week!

I didn’t have any specific books or authors in mind, I just wanted to browse, and see what caught my eye.

here’s what I got!

Crosstalk by Connie Willis – I love her stuff, and this is one I’ve never read before.  this is a doorstopped chunkster of a book, holy crap! I better not read this in bed, if I drop it on my face I might break my nose.

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green – A bunch of friends have recommended this to me, it looks like a fun, fast read.  Something about social media and going viral going horribly wrong.

We are all Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory – a bunch of friends have recommended this too! I’ve read a couple of short stories by Gregory, and enjoyed them. So let’s give this a whirl.

Have you read any of these? did you like them?

 

I didn’t get a ton of books, but guess what? I can return these and get more, whenever I want.  There is something about that phrase, whenever I want, that right now feels so freeing.

 

Tags:

15 Responses to "I library-ed!"

”Crosstalk by Connie Willis – I love her stuff, and this is one I’ve never read before. this is a doorstopped chunkster of a book, holy crap! I better not read this in bed, if I drop it on my face I might break my nose.”

hahaha . happy reading

Liked by 1 person

thanks! I’m really looking forward to this one!

Liked by 1 person

Hooray for libraries! ❤
I have Crosstalk on my shelf, but I’ve not yet read it. As for the other two, they’re both new to me. I’ve heard good things about Daryl Gregory …
😃

Liked by 1 person

well, i’ve got 2 weeks to start getting into Crosstalk, or at least renew it. it’s such a chunkster, i’ll probably end up doing one of those “well, i’m 100 pages in and . . . ” type blog posts, and then blog again when i’ve finished it.

Liked by 1 person

I was hoping you’d do something like that.. 😆

Liked by 1 person

We Are All Completely Fine is seriously one of my favorite books, and Daryl Gregory is one of my favorite authors. Read it! Also read Spoonbenders which is also amazing😁

Liked by 1 person

They had Spoonbenders too! but i already had a stack of books in my arms by the time I found it, so I went with the novella this time.

Like

We Are All is very dark, and Spoonbenders is just all around wonderful, they are very different! Even if you don’t like We Are All, don’t let that stop you from reading Spoonbenders at some point😁

Liked by 1 person

I started We Are All Completely Fine last night, to learn that it is too scary for what I want to read right now. I got the scrimshaw thing at the beginning, and couldn’t get any further. Maybe it’ll be the right book for me another time.

Please tell me Spoonbenders isn’t horror?

Like

Good for you! Our libraries are not open yet (since March) but books can be put on hold and do eventually show up.

Like

I was thrilled and shocked to see that our libraries have opened. VERY limited hours, limited number of people are allowed inside at once, they don’t want you in there for more than an hour, no magazines or newspapers, etc. There’s a reason I went to the smaller country branch – far fewer people than at the main branch!

all the branches have “reserve online, curbside pick-up” programs.

Like

I liked Crosstalk pretty well! It’s in the vein of Bellwether, I think, with two people pursuing their goals and a lot of chaos getting in the way (or is it helping?) — and obvs a romance.

Liked by 1 person

sounds like the perfect escapism!

Liked by 1 person

Love me some Libraries!

Liked by 1 person

join the conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,551 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Archives

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
%d bloggers like this: