the Little Red Reviewer

Just a few new things

Posted on: August 26, 2017

Let’s see, what new book goodies have come into my collection lately?  So much good stuff I don’t even know where to start! What looks good to you?

The Stone Sky by N.K. Jemisin is the last book in her Broken Earth trilogy.  Oh, I should probably mention that both book 1 and book 2 of this series won Hugo awards. I’m kinda waiting for the right time to read this one, because I expect it will break my brain (in a good way!) more than a little bit. I don’t know too much about Noumenon by Marina Lostetter, but I know I’ve got till Sept 20th to read it because that’s when Book Club meets to discuss it.

To Guard Against the Dark by Julie Czerneda doesn’t come out until October, but expect the internet to collectively lose its shit when we are finally allowed to talk about this book.   Yes, I know, the cover says “Reunification #3”, and yes, this is the final book in the Reunification trilogy. However, that trilogy is the final trilogy in Czerneda’s long running Clan Chronicles. You know how Robin Hobb does interconnected trilogies? Clan Chronicles is a little bit like that. But in outer space, and with aliens. The end of this story has been 20 years in the making, and this long reaching series coming to a close is truly the end of an era.  I can’t tell you much except I’m about 1/4 way through To Guard Against the Dark and that my spoiler-y (#sorrynotsorry) review of The Gate to Futures Past (Reunification #2) will be posting soon.  We can of course, talk about Gate to Futures Past as much as we want, since that book came out last year.

When I popped into my favorite local bookstore earlier today, I picked up Becky Chambers’ A Closed and Common Orbit, since all the cool kids are reading it. From the reviews I’ve read, I think I’ll like this book even more than the first one.

 

Thank you to Subterranean Press for sending me an ARC of The Father of Lies, the new collection by K.J. Parker. This doorstopper volume of novellas isn’t available until January, but if you are a Parker fan I recommend you pre-order, I expect this to sell out pretty quickly.  The 500+ page volume contains twelve novellas, including “Downfall of the Gods”, which I adored.   Thank you to Tor for sending me a review copy of The Man in the Tree, which is getting a ton of positive buzz. The premise sounds intriguing, so I’m hoping to get started on this one pretty soon. Can I get it read before it’s release date of Sept 12th? I doubt it.

 

Well? What looks good to you?

 

5 Responses to "Just a few new things"

I can’t wait to read The Stone Sky too, although I was hoping to read it by pub day, guess that didn’t happen. Happy reading!

Liked by 1 person

Czerneda! It’s been forever since I’ve read something by her, but I’ve loved her Web Shifters and Trade Pact books.

I just got the second Jemisin book, so I’m very much looking forward to diving in. The first was excellent!

Like

I’ve had to get to a Closed and Common Orbit for the longest time!! If you get to it before I do I can’t wait to see how it compares to book 1!

Like

The Stone Sky and the K.J. Parker have the most appeal to me.

Like

I’m halfway through The Stone Sky, and it’s just as artfully crafted as the first two books in the series.

I /really/ like Noumenon. Because of the way it’s told, it feels a lot like Asimov’s Foundation novels.

To me, A Closed and Common Orbit was barely a sequel to The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet. While the two are told in the same universe and overlap on a few characters, the style in which they’re told and the overall mood of both books couldn’t be more different. The first book was kind of fun and even a little campy, but the second is pretty bleak and very introspective. I don’t think one is better than the other, and I liked them both a lot. They’re just both very different.

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

  • please RT, I need some help filling in spots for a blog tour I'm running. Middle Grade fiction, videogames, adventures! DM me w/questions! 2 hours ago
  • one review down, two to go. i've earned a few rounds of candy crush, right? 3 hours ago
  • RT @NativeApprops: I would LOVE to see an Indigenous person rock this fellowship! Apply!! Esp now that @indiancountry is no more (for now).… 5 hours ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,921 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Archives

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
