the Little Red Reviewer

I’m saving it for a special occasion

Posted on: April 26, 2017

 

We have a bottle of champagne still sitting around from New Years, and we’re waiting for a particular special occasion to open it.

 

Do you ever do that with a book?  Save reading it for a special occasion or a certain time, maybe when you’re on vacation, or early Sunday morning when the house is quiet, or maybe you’re waiting until the author announces the release date for the next book in the series, or you want to see the movie or the tv show first.

 

I’m curious – if you wait for a certain occasion or event to read a book, what is the book and why are you waiting for that particular event before you read it?

 

I have a third book in a trilogy that I haven’t read yet. It is a completed trilogy, and I’ve been a fan of this author for many years.  At first, I told myself I was waiting for the author to announce the release date for their next stand alone novel before I finished the trilogy. Well, that has come and gone, and the new book is getting rave reviews. I still haven’t picked up that third book. Now my excuse is that I want to find time to read books 1 and 2 back to back so I can binge read all three over the course of a week or two.  Well, I have the time, and I haven’t done it.

 

I think the real reason I haven’t read the third book is because once I finish the trilogy it will be over. All the lines will have been drawn on the map, the character’s story arcs will come to an end, there won’t be any more exploring to do. If I stay at the end of the 2nd book, I feel like I’m still on the frontier. I can see the end, but it’s a long way off in the distance yet.

 

Next weekend I should really just binge read all three, shouldn’t I?

Tags: ,

5 Responses to "I’m saving it for a special occasion"

I know the feeling.
I put any books like that in a “High Priority” collection and read one from that collection once every 10 books. Spaces things out but that way I still read it faster than if I put it in regular rotation.
And that way, I don’t have to “choose” to read it or not 😀

Like

Ayep. Just go enjoy all three of them. I just finished a series (perhaps the one you are talking about) and immediately thought about going back and reading the first two again after the fact.

I never used to save up books though; i read them as soon as I could get my hands on them. Then read them again if I wanted too.

Like

Yes! I’ve been saving Brandon Sanderson’s Mistorn for a special occasion. People seem to be obsessed with that trilogy and I’m waiting for just the right time to dedicate my undivided attention to it so I can marathon the series!

Like

I held off reading The Sharing Knife #1 and #2 (Bujold) until #3 was out and then read all three. That was a mistake — I then had to wait 8 months for #4 to come out, but it was still better than having to wait three years for the end of the series.

I read Dragon and Thief by Timothy Zahn. Then waited until I had collected the other five books to read the rest.

Like

Are you kidding? OF COURSE I “save” books. Just look over at that shelf with Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle Book 1) sitting there. I’m saving it for when he finishes the damn Chronicle. If he ever does.

I have favorite mystery authors that I just couldn’t bring myself to read the last of a series. Saving them for a rainy day (um, every day here, this year, so far…). I have books that I bought to read Right Away!, but they linger on the TBR bookcase, because if I read them, then they’re, um, over.

Then there are what I’ll call the “unintentional saves”, the books that I keep buying in a series, on which I’m also falling behind, such as The Expanse books.

In a way, I guess you could say everything I have is a save in one way or another, but in the meaning you present here, the answer is yes. I save books for later reading. The answer of should you binge the trilogy is also YES. Just take a few notes so you can post about the books, and the experience.

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,939 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Archives

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
