the Little Red Reviewer

Why I am so excited for the future of Vintage Science Fiction

Posted on: January 31, 2017

You guys, I can’t wait to be 80 years old.  I’ll be there in about 45 years, and by then we’ll have flying driverless cars,  our smartphones will be embedded in our skulls, we’ll have androids and robots, and we’ll be flying all over the inner solar system.

 

But besides all that, I can’t wait to see what “Vintage Science Fiction” will look like in 30 years.

 

Dictionary.com includes the following in their definition of the adjective Vintage:

representing the high quality of a past time:  vintage cars; vintage movies.

 

old-fashioned or obsolete: vintage jokes.

 

being the best of its kind: They praised the play as vintage O’Neill.

 

When used as an adjective, there is no specific year or time period attached to the word vintage. It’s fluid. Personally, I define “Vintage science fiction” as anything published before 1979.  The year is arbitrary, and if someone else defines Vintage science fiction differently, their definition is just as correct as mine.

 

Which means. . .   when I am 80 years old, someone somewhere will be defining Vintage Science Fiction as anything written before 2016.  And they’ll be discovering for the first time authors like Robert Jackson Bennett, Benjanun Sriduangkaew, Iain M Banks, Julie Czerneda, and Will McIntosh.
Talk about something to celebrate!!

6 Responses to "Why I am so excited for the future of Vintage Science Fiction"

Or, those authors will have completely disappeared and no one will have heard of them except for old gits like you 😉

Liked by 1 person

As for getting old, don’t forget the joys of “space diapers.”

Like

It pleases me to think that you’ll still be geeking out about SF books at age 80. I hope I will, too!

It’s the 31st and I’m just now starting my vintage book (Canticle for Leibowitz), but it still counts if I start it in January and finish it later, right?

Like

Whoa, whoa, whoa. Time to keep reading what’s vintage now for those books will be long out of mind by the time you’re 70.

Liked by 1 person

The term, as you said, is certainly fluid. What’s Ironic is that I’ve never thought of placing a date on it. I love reading vintage Sci-Fi, and new Sci-fi. I think if I had to categorise it I would say that vintage = ‘The author is dead.’ I know that’s an arbitrary distinction, but, inactuality so is designating a date.’

Like

Didn’t realise those early Ballard novels were vintage SF. Although, his future worlds were supposed to be about the next 5 minutes, so I’m not sure if he’s seen much as an SF writer.

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,784 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Archives

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
