the Little Red Reviewer

Book hopping

Posted on: October 8, 2016

I’ve been dabbling in a few books lately, reading a few pages or a few chapters here and there, not really committing to any of them for the long haul. Book Attention Deficit Disorder? that’s badd.


Here’s what I’ve been reading:


Darwinia by Robert Charles Wilson was written in 1998, won the Prix Aurora, and was nominated for a Hugo. The premise is that in 1912, a large portion of Europe and Northern Africa disappeared overnight and was replaced with alien flora and fauna. A new age of discovery and exploration begins.  I’m maybe 40 pages in so far, and having a good time.  It’s the little details so far that are really pulling me in – momentary discussion of Europeans living in America and Canada who realize they may be the last people on Earth who speak their native language, characters mention reading Tarzan like stories in pulp magazines,  it’s just a ton of fun all around. I hope the rest of it is as good as the beginning!


Terra Incognita by Sara Wheeler is about her experiences in Antarctica. I’m reading a non-fiction book, can you believe it?  In the early chapters that I’ve read so far, she’s mostly talking about early explorers who went to the poles, people who got stranded, areas of Antarctica that were named after who, etc. Many years ago, I read an article (or maybe short novel? or excerpt?) that described the two kinds of people who are interested in Antarctica: those who have never visited the continent, and those who are trying to get back. Basically, once you go, all you want to do is go back. It’s been interesting jumping from this book to Darwinia. They are both about exploration, survival, and the unknown.


Red Rising by Pierce Brown was written in 2014. It’s the first of a trilogy, and the final book in the series, Morning Star, came out earlier in 2016.  Imagine if Hunger Games took place in the world of Gattaca, throw in a lot of Machiavellian social expectations and a very angry teenager who has lost someone he loves, and you’ll have something approaching Red Rising. I really want to like this book, but it’s just way to YA for me. That isn’t a knock against YA, it’s just me saying there are things I enjoy reading and things I don’t enjoy reading. And I’ve read some great YA, this just isn’t one of those great YA books. I’ll probably DNF this one. If you’ve read this book, or this series, what did you think of it?

9 Responses to "Book hopping"

If I’d seen these three books in a stack and been asked which blogger I read would be reading the three of them now, you wouldn’t have been the answer, particularly Terra Incognita. There are non-fiction books I can imagine you reading, say on native American legends of the Great Lakes region (or something), but Antarctica? You surprise me yet again.

I get that book hopping thing happening sometimes, particularly if it’s a book of short stories and a novel, often in different genres. Darwinia does sound somewhat interesting, but I doubt I’ll ever get to it. So many books…


Ha! you know, I think I do have a Native American myths book around here someplace, maybe 2 of them!

I do wish this Antarctica book was better. I’m enjoying the parts where she talks about the current scientific labs down there, and helicopter hopping around, but there is no transition at all between those sections and the sections about early expeditions. Also, the historical stuff is more gruesome than what I was looking for, makes the book read like a horror novel at times.

I think you’d like Darwinia. I can tell already, this is going to be a fun review to write!


Loved Darwinia, but I am a big fan of Wilson. Tried the Pierce Brown but gave up after a couple of chapters.


I got just shy of halfway through the Pierce and gave up. The further I got, the more I couldn’t stand the main character.


Darwinia seems like a good read.


it is! The premise is very innovative, and then there are these really cool twists and turns. I wasn’t sure what I was expecting when I picked this book up, but this wasn’t it!


I have Darwinia in my to read pile from a book buy a couple of years ago, because I have TBR pile problemsO_o. I’m glad you’re enjoying it! I’m also having difficulty focusing on one book, so I’m switching between The Killing Moon by N.K. Jemisin, Star of the Morning by Lynn Kurland, and Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams.
~ Litha Nelle


Oooohhh. I want Darwinia! How have I not heard of it before. Or, maybe heard of it and then fell of my radar. Must remedy!


I have a copy of Darwinia on my shelf somewhere. Maybe I should read it??


join the conversation

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,630 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on


FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
