the Little Red Reviewer

The Purloined Poodle, by Kevin Hearne (an Iron Druid novella)

Posted on: September 16, 2016

purloined-poodle-hearneThe Purloined Poodle, by Kevin Hearne

published Sept 30, 2016

where I got it: received review copy from the publisher (thanks Subterranean Press!)

 

 

.

Swap out the recipe and/or knitting pattern for lots of butt sniffing, and The Purloined Poodle would make a perfect cozy mystery.

 

Told from the point of view of Oberon, Atticus’s wolfhound, this is a fun and fast paced mystery about doggies that have gone missing. And not just any doggies, but a prize winning poodle!  As Atticus chats up other dog owners at the dog park, Oberon gets to know the other dogs. By shaking hands and saying “Hi!” in the doggie way, which of course, as everyone knows, is sniffing the other dog’s butt and letting them sniff yours. But enough playing and getting to know each other, there’s a mystery to solve!  Atticus promises Oberon plenty of snacks, so Oberon is on the case! Just like that other mystery solving guy, you know, the one with the pipe!

Oberon knows not all dogs know words like he does, he knows not all dogs have a mental connection with their humans.  He knows Atticus is an ancient druid, and that it’s a good thing that Oberon can’t talk to other humans, because what and who Atticus is has to stay a secret. Even if those other dogs don’t know many words other than Sit and Come, Oberon can still learn a lot from them, especially who they are afraid of. Why they are afraid, that’s a longer conversation, often involving naps, playing, and snacks.

 

The Purloined Poodle is an absolutely adorable novella – 100 pages of pure entertainment.   Oberon acts like a happy and playful dog – he has a 10 minute (ok, 5 minute) attention span, wants to show his human how smart he is by mentioning all sorts of silly things he’s seen on TV, can’t bear to see other dogs unhappy, and will do just about anything for meaty snacks.  If you don’t laugh while reading this little book, there might be something wrong with you. Or, maybe you don’t like dogs?

 

If you’re brand new to Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid series, this new novella might not be the best place to start. It assumes you know about Atticus and why he’s not living in Arizona anymore, it assumes you know who Granuaile is. If you’ve got one or two (or even three) of the novels under your belt, you should be fine.  (According to the wikipedia page, this novella fits anywhere into the series, according to the chronology on Hearne’s website The Purloined Poodle comes after the novel Staked) For what it’s worth, my first ever exposure to Hearne’s Iron Druid series was the short story “Goddess at the Crossroads” in the Fantasy Medley 3 anthology from Sub Press, and I did just fine (and immediately went out and bought the first 2 novels and devoured them, because Hello!).

 

There’s so much heavy fiction out there right now, so many novels that demand that you think and ask questions. And that’s great! I love those novels!  But….  It’s also nice to intersperse your heavy reading with lighter, more fun stories. Like this one!

 

4 Responses to "The Purloined Poodle, by Kevin Hearne (an Iron Druid novella)"

I definitely want to check this out soon! I just am trying to make my way through the books on my TBR in this series before adding to it. lol

Like

I got a million TBR books too. These little novellas are wonderful because I can finish them in a day or two. I feel like I’ve accomplished so much, and I only read 100 pages!

Like

Thank you for this review! I received a package of proofs from Subterranean earlier this month, and this one was among them. My interest was already gravitating towards this one since I’m familiar with Hearne’s Iron Druid series but adorable and entertaining just sealed the deal. I’m very behind on the main series though, so hopefully I won’t be too lost.

Liked by 1 person

I’m also way behind on the main series, and I did OK. as far as I can tell, there are very few series spoilers in this novella, it’s mostly Oberon being awesome and funny and lots of pop culture jokes. The novella is like a giant plate of all of your favorite dessert foods.

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,623 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
