the Little Red Reviewer

Time Salvager, by Wesley Chu

Posted on: July 10, 2016

time-salvager-book-coverTime Salvager, by Wesley Chu

published 2015

where I got it: purchased new

 

 

.

.

.

.

I do like me some time travel books. And a time travel story where objects and people are brought into other times, and you have to go. . . . back to the future?  Great Scott, sign me up! Seriously though,  I’m a sucker for a good time travel.  That movie Looper? It made no sense and all, and I loved it.   So, it makes sense that Wesley Chu’s Time Salvager would be right up my alley.  The gist of the plot is in a few hundred years, Earth is in shambles. Chronmen go into the past to get resources, batteries, energy sources, valuable minerals, just about anything that’s worth anything.  ChronoCom uses the time travel technology to give Earth a few more years of existence. Anyone who can afford to left Earth long ago to live on a colony elsewhere.

 

Chronman James Griffin-Mars self medicates his way through too many dangerous missions. He’s left too many ghosts behind, too many people he couldn’t save, too many people he had to let die, because the history books said they died. You can’t rewrite history, you can’t change the future, everyone knows that.  When James brings a woman back into the future, he breaks every law of time travel, and he seals his own fate as a traitor to everything he thought he believed in.

 

Cinematic action sequences and high octane pacing,  this sounds pretty intense, right?

Even before it’s release last summer,  Time Salvager was optioned for a movie, with director Michael Bay attached to the film.  The B&N scifi blog had a fun quick article about a few reasons why this book would make such a great movie.  So, as I was reading, I couldn’t help but think about the differences between why movies are so much fun, and why books are so much fun, and how they both succeed but through wildly different methods. Something that makes a book awesome make not make for an awesome movie, and vice versa. It’s a fun thing to think about.

 

And what I came up with is the difference is in breathing time.  In a high octane action movie,  the pace is so fast you barely have time to breath. By the time you’re done saying “that was so cool!”, the impressive visuals of the next scene has started, and you barely have time to think about what you’ve just seen. Flaws in characterization or plot points can be hidden with the “cool factor” of lens flares and explosions. Telling a story visually is completely different from telling a story through prose on a page. When you’re reading a book, you have a lot of breathing time. Every time you put the book down for a few hours or a few days, you are free to think about how much everything made sense, free to pick scenes apart, to enjoy them if they worked, and be annoyed by them if they didn’t work.

 

Time Salvager functions as a great movie book. Lots of huge set pieces, lots of intense action, predictable chemistry between characters, corporate conspiracies and corruption, characters who are haunted by their past.  This book is going to work for a lot of people, but the more I stepped away from it, the more breathing time I had, the less I enjoyed it. Like I said, telling a story on the page is very different from telling a story on a big screen. On the page, you’ve got get me to suspend my disbelief for a few hundred pages with nothing but your writing chops.

 

It didn’t help that I couldn’t stand James Griffin-Mars and ChronoCom from the start.  Talented Chronmen are in short supply, yet the company works them to the bone and encourages their most talented Chronmen to self medicate through booze and prostitutes. (booze and brothels…. are we in the future? Or are we in Game of Thrones?) There is corruption in the funding of the company, but the high auditor admits that he doesn’t like to pay attention to things like that, thus everyone is shocked (shocked!) when the corruption comes to light. Props to Chu for writing characters that I had such a visceral reaction to.

 

Moving forward in the plot a bit, James and Elise find themselves on the run from the authorities. They find shelter with the savages who live outside the cities.  James assumes the savages are cannibals who will kill civilized folk if given the chance, and he’s shocked (shocked!) that they care for their young, have developed agriculture, and actually live a pretty nice, if rustic lifestyle.  Overall, this entire book just did not work for me. I felt the plot was rife with cliches, the characterization fell flat, and as the story  progressed I had a harder and harder time suspending my disbelief.

 

I could go into specific details about certain scenes that didn’t work for me, but I don’t think there’s a need at this point. If you like high octane action stories that feel like a movie, you’ll probably like this book. If that’s not your thing, then you probably won’t like this book.

 

5 Responses to "Time Salvager, by Wesley Chu"

I like the time travel element, but if I wanted to see a movie then I wouldn’t read a book that reads like a movie. I don’t know, I am in the fence. Maybe when I am at a low point in good books. Not right now though, but if you want a great book that reads like you could be a part of it then take a look at Sun Valley Moon Mountains by Ajax Minor, fantastic book.

Like

Hi Andrea,

My name is Maggie Bania and I’m an intern with Dreaming Big Publications. I found your blog, Little Red Reviewer on the Book Blogger Directory and am contacting you to request a book review for our newest release from nationally bestselling author Piers Anthony, Hair Power! Your site says you like to review books in the fantasy and science fiction genre, so I thought you might be interested in Hair Power. Obviously we are very excited about our release and would love if you could review it! Please let me know if you’d like an electronic copy of Hair Power.

Best,
Maggie Bania
Intern at Dreaming Big Publications
http://www.dreamingbigpublications.com
dreamingbigpublications@outlook.com

About Hair Power:
Terminal cancer patient, Quiti, walks into an abandoned building planning on taking her life.

Instead, she encounters a telepathic ball of hair that insists it is an alien seeking to facilitate diplomatic communication on Earth.

Quiti assumes it is all a hallucination conjured up by her brain tumor.

Because of this assumption, when she saves the alien’s life and it insists on doing Quiti a favor in return, she only asks for her hair back. She soon discovers, however, that the creature’s gift extends much further than her new locks that can change color with a thought. As her powers grow and her deadly illness goes into remission, Quiti quickly realizes that there are those that would want to use her for her abilities and is forced to leave behind everything that she knew.

Will this blessing curse her to a life on the run, or does the mysterious hairball have more in store for her?

Piers Anthony, critically acclaimed author of the New York Times bestselling Xanth series, brings together humor and adventure in this original story of loyalty, friendship, extraordinary powers, and hair.

Title: Hair Power
Author: Piers Anthony
Author’s Website: http://www.hipiers.com/
Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.com/Hair-Power-Piers-Anthony-ebook/dp/B01I220J26/
Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30955484-hair-power
Paperback Edition: $7.99, EBOOK: $3.99
Genre: Fantasy, Science Fiction
Number of Pages: 128

Publisher: Dreaming Big Publications,
http://www.dreamingbigpublications.com
dreamingbigpublications@outlook.com

Editor in Chief: Kristi King-Morgan
dreamingbigpublications@outlook.com

Like

Hi Maggie,

thanks for reaching out. as I mention on my “about” page, Due to limited reading time, I can not accept review requests from people I don’t already have a relationship with.

best of luck to you!

Like

Sounds like a good read. I’d be interested to see the movie play out from the way you were describing it as well. I’d like to see more novels go the way of Game of Thrones, in that they get around to the same point, but from an alternate angle, which makes both experiences fresh, thrilling, and unique

Like

Interesting insight about the difference between reading a novel and watching a movie. I’ve thought about this and agree with the idea of ‘breathing time’. I mean think about it, the average length of a movie is around 70-90 minutes, but the plot may cover days, weeks, or months. So, a movie is super compressed.

A book on the other hand, you can read at your leisure, or go back and read passages again. You may take days, or weeks to read what only takes an hour or two in the narrative. Alan Moore talks about this in his essay “Writing for Comics”.

Maybe that’s why the new, awesome format for adaptation is to do a television series like ‘Game of Thrones’ or BSG or whatever. You get upwards of 50 hours to tell the story, if the series gets 5 seasons. I would rather have a novel be adapted for TV than a movie for that very reason.

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,674 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
