the Little Red Reviewer

sadness and silliness

Posted on: February 22, 2016

How was your weekend?

death house

My Saturday was great.    I didn’t leave the house.  Read a ton,  made yummy dinner, watched a few episodes of Parks and Recreation.  My friend Kristin sent me a copy of The Death House by Sarah Pinborough, which I devoured. I read a little further in Ian Tregillis’s The Coldest War and realized I’ve mostly been reading this late at  night while half asleep and I really haven’t absorbed anything, so I need to just start the book from scratch.  We had fantastic Spanish Meatballs and Twice Baked Potatoes for dinner.

the coldest war tregillis

Sunday morning I woke up to my cell phone ringing off the hook, it was my parents calling to make sure I was OK because this happened in my city (we’re fine), and then there was this.

 

I need something happy/silly as some kind of counterbalance. I needed  something that doesn’t involve me eating an entire box of thin mints. (which would actually be the happiest worse food decision ever). humor to the rescue.  and a few thin mints never hurt anyone.

 

I like me some Game of Thrones

I like the show Chopped on Food Network

 

Combine the two? Sure! why not!

 

the contestants would be Jon Snow, Daenerys, and Tywin, and the judges would be Hodor, Ygritte and Tyrion.  Littlefinger could EmCee and introduce everyone.

 

Jon Snow doesn’t know how to cook worth shit, and Ygritte’s response to everything he presents is “You know nothing, Jon Snow”.  Tyrion takes every opportunity to snark on his dad, with Tywin getting increasingly frustrated that the name of the show has nothing to do with chopping people’s heads off. Daenerys presents a dish that is basically coddled horse blood served in a hollowed out horse heart, and Tyrion suddenly stops trying to pick her up. Hodor loves every dish he tastes, and turns out he is a rather educated and loquacious foodie, often responding with “Hodor, hodor hodor hodor.  Hodor hodor hodor, hodor hodor. Hodor hodor hodor . . . .  hodor hodor hodor, hodor hodor . . . .  hodor hodor ”.

 

How is this not already a meme?

.
Also? I finished Hounded by Kevin Hearne, and it was flippin’ fantastic. Why didn’t you guys let me read this book, like, years ago?

hounded kevin hearne

6 Responses to "sadness and silliness"

Why, my weekend was pretty good, I guess. Sorta same-same-same. Put together a Friday Forgotten book post on Joseph Conrad (when’s the last time you read any?), put together my Monday post on the previous week’s reading (now up, ahem) and watched it rain.

So you had a pretty damn good weekend, all in all. Like hearing that.

That Facebook post… I don’t approve of most of what he says happened, but he sure seems paranoid, almost as if he expects and looks for anything. It’s a shame, I’ve never seen or heard anything like any of that happening at any con I’ve attended.

Like

Sorry to hear that happened in your city, I saw that too. Glad you found a way to brighten your mood- I got a kick out of your GoT/ Chopped mashup.🙂 Hodor… as a judge, hmm.🙂

I liked the Hearne Star Wars book I read but I haven’t read any of his others.

Like

Oh my gosh… glad you are okay. I think Hodor would be a good foodie as well- certainly better than Dany, who likely hasn’t cooked in years, if ever. I started Hounded a while ago and put it aside when I got distracted… I’ll have to get back to it soon.
~Litha Nelle

Like

I love the Kevin Hearne books! I wish I had read him a long time ago, too!

Like

Reading and Parks and Rec does sound like a perfect weekend.

Hope the books are great for you this week!🙂

Like

How awful! Glad you’re okay.

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,617 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
