the Little Red Reviewer

#Amreading

Posted on: February 15, 2016

It’s Monday, what are you reading?

 

Monday’s are a great time for me to talk about what I’ve been reading, as work has slowed down a little bit lately, so I actually have time to read and relax over the weekend.   It’s also way too cold to go outside unless I absolutely have to, so staying inside and cuddling under blankets with a book sounds like a great way to pass a Sunday afternoon.

hounded kevin hearne

Over the weekend, I zipped through Hounded, by Kevin Hearne. It was a fun, fast read, i’m hoping to find time later this week (or next weekend!) to write a review.  The book  is funny, snarky, has awesome dialog, and is so full of DGAF, and I loved it.

the coldest war tregillis

Wanting something “grabs you doesn’t let go”, I started The Coldest War, by Ian Tregillis last night.  The Coldest War is the sequel to Bitter Seeds, which I read a few years ago. These alt-history books are a combination of “grab you by the shirt and won’t let go” and “really hard to read”.  it’s like, am I a psychopath for enjoying these?  Arrgghh, Gretel!  what would have she been like if she’d never been experimented on? Would she just be a schoolyard bully? because now she’s something so much more screwed up.

By the way, have you see my give away for The Best Of Apex?

11 Responses to "#Amreading"

I need to read more of the Kevin Hearne books – they really are very good fun.
I haven’t read the Bitter Seeds and just can’t make up my mind if it’s for me or not!
Lynn😀

Like

Bitter Seeds is super duper dark. Not grim, just intensely dark. so, wait till you’re in the mood for something really dark, and then go for it!

Like

I read the first two Kevin Hearne books so far this year and I am really enjoying him! I have Bitter Seeds on my TBR and must get to it!

Like

Hounded was a riot! i can’t believe i waited this long to read this!

Like

Nice to get a relaxing weekend of reading.

Like

Right now I’m rereading Martha Wells’s “The Serpent Sea,” so that I can finally read the 3rd Raksura novel.

Like

I haven’t read Kevin Hearne’s series although I did read the Star Wars book he wrote, and enjoyed it. I may have to read more of his stuff…

Like

i got hooked on him from reading one of his short stories.

Like

As usual, my current reading in on my Monday post (tipthewink.net) and it’s all short stories this time.

Like

I really enjoyed Hounded, so I must read some more in the series. Plus the author’s twitter is great🙂

I also read Bitter Seeds a good while ago and really enjoyed it. Pretty sure I bought the sequel but haven’t gotten around to it yet.

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,623 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
