the Little Red Reviewer

Vintage Goodies around the web-o-sphere

Posted on: January 26, 2016

I used to call these posts Vintage Science Fiction ’round the Blogosphere, but Vintage SciFi is now on Instagram and Youtube! Wow!  Let’s see what all these fantastic folks have been up to:

Red Star Reviews  gives a great summary of the four authors he focused on for Vintage Month, Frank Herbert, Gordon R Dickson, Joe Haldeman, and Henry Kuttner. I don’t completely understand how Instagram works, but Red Star Reviews has been instrumental in getting a lot of images posted to Instagram. Click here for a fantastic gallery.

on Youtube, Winx and Ink reviews The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury

Booktuber The Space Possum shares her Vintage Book haul

Galactic Journey discusses everything that was new and innovative in 1961 – short fiction from Galaxy and Analog Science Fact and Fiction magazines, films of airships and apes,  and more!

Bev over at My Reader’s Block reviewed The Platypus of Doom by Arthor Byron Cover (that guy’s name rings a bell!) and Imagination Unlimited which collects stories by Bradbury, Sturgeon, May, deCamp, and others

Starbornis a fantastic Andre Norton tribute site

Worlds in Ink went for the Smorgasbord of goodness with the Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 25, featuring all the greats from the early 60s

Two Dudes in an Attic offers an in depth discussion of what We Who Are About To by Joanna Russ is, and isn’t.

As always, Science Fiction and Other Suspect Ruminations offers up book reviews, cover art galleries, and discussion of titles such as Irrational Numbers by George Alec Effinger, and the Universe 1 anthology edited by Terry Carr

For those of you who want one stop shopping, Victorian Soul Book Critiques offers reviews of Dawn and Adulthood Rites by Octavia Butler

Lynn’s Book Blog has been showcasing some fantastic (and weird!) cover art from She by H. Rider Haggard, Logan’s Run, The Stepford Wives,  The Moon is a Harsh Mistress, and a review of The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells. Go let her know which cover arts are your favorite!

Hibernator’s Library discusses The Time Machine by H.G Wells and The Rolling Stones by Robert Heinlein  and is interested in your thoughts

Weighing A Pig Doesn’t Fatten it wasn’t at all impressed with The Santaroga Barrier by Frank Herbert (while I, on the other hand, found this book fun and weird. But I’m a Herbert fangirl.)

The Howling Frog reviews The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. LeGuin

 

as for myself, I recently read The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle. It was very enjoyable, but i still haven’t gotten around to reviewing it.  If you liked Gaiman’s Stardust, then you’ll like The Last Unicorn. Beagle plays around with language and fairy tale tropes, and “how the story is supposed to go, because that’s how all these types of stories go”.

 

What of the above books look interesting to you?

 

 

 

4 Responses to "Vintage Goodies around the web-o-sphere"

Thanks for the mention!
I’m always looking at H.G. Wells reviews, but oddly enough, I only ever manage to read his books during the month of December (it’s kind of a tradition now). The Time Machine and War of the Worlds are two I haven’t yet read. Pretty much any old sci-fi interests me, as long as it wasn’t penned by L. Ron Hubbard.
~Litha Nelle

Like

Of course the Frank Herbert book looks amazing to me! But I’m a fan too and it’s sitting on my bookshelf waiting to be read. I think you would enjoy the bookstagram community on Instagram. It’s a lot of fun! And so many folks were so very excited to join in! Thank you for starting this all off and inspiring so many of us to read excellent vintage stories.

Like

We Who Are About To by Joanna Russ goes on my list. I liked her The Female Man.

So much great activity on all these sites!

Like

I’m currently participating in a read-along of The Time Traveler’s Almanac, and one the stories they had in the first section, “Experiments”, was an excerpt of The Time Machine by H.G. Wells. I actually extremely disappointed when I realized this, because I liked it so much and wanted to read the whole story!😄 So yeah, I’d check out The Time Machine first out all of those you listed.

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,623 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
