the Little Red Reviewer

Thanks to Vintage Month, I discovered . . . .

Posted on: January 17, 2016

Taking a cue from Lynn’s Book Blog,  I’d like to highlight a few Vintage titles I’ve previously enjoyed by showing off their cover art.  What makes these books so special to me, is that without Vintage month, I wouldn’t have ever discovered them.

As you scroll through this cover art gallery, ask yourself: if you saw these books with this cover art at the bookstore, how likely would you be to pick up the book?

 

Just recently, I fell head over heels for Clifford Simak’s Way Station, written in 1963.  Such a feel-good story!

The original 1963 Doubleday cover art

The original 1963 Doubleday cover art

1969 Cover Art by Jack Faragasso

1969 Cover Art by Jack Faragasso

2014 Cover art from the Chinese translation

2014 Cover art from the Chinese translation

Ultra modern 2015 Cover art from Open Road Media

Ultra modern 2015 Cover art from Open Road Media

I know Andre Norton is super famous for her Witch World books, but my favorite of hers is The Zero Stone, written in 1968. Alien cats and treasure hunting? what’s not to like? The Zero Stone has a sequel, Uncharted Stars, which I have a copy of, I just haven’t read yet.

of course I have a cat carrier for my space walk. Doesn't everyone?

of course I have a cat carrier for my space walk. Doesn’t everyone?

 

Publication date, unknown

Publication date, unknown

1974 Gollancz edition

1974 Gollancz edition, artwork by Robin Jacques

Brand spankin' new cover art from the Open Road edition

Brand spankin’ new cover art from the Open Road edition

I am constantly recommending Stanislaw Lem’s The Cyberiad. if you’ve only suffered through his Solaris, I beg you to give him another chance with this collection of interrelated satirical short stories about two robots who, well, accidentally break everything. The most unforgettable part of this book is where one of them bets the other that he can’t write a sonnet where every word starts with the letter “S”. Not only is the sonnet written, but translator Michael Kandel was able to brilliantly translate it from the original Polish into English, and every work still starts with S! Originally published in 1965 in Poland, the first English version of The Cyberiad wasn’t available until 1974.

the original 1965 artwork

the original 1965 artwork

Artwork year, unknown, but probably mid 1970's

Artwork year, unknown, but probably mid 1970’s

from a 1991 Polish edition

from a 1991 Polish edition

2002 Cover Art

2002 Cover Art

4 Responses to "Thanks to Vintage Month, I discovered . . . ."

I like the ’69 cover art for Way Station and, probably predictably the most modern one – I think I would definitely pick that one up. The Andre Norton definitely the first cover – it’s great! I love the cat floating around in it’s carrier. That cover would (and did) make me grin.
The Cyberiad – well, that looks like a book that I probably wouldn’t be tempted by which makes me feel bad! I actually like the original artwork with it’s fine art style.
Lynn😀

Like

This is such a breath of fresh air!! Every where you look the same books are celebrated and recommended. I love hearing about new and different things! Thank you

Like

You’re very welcome!

Like

Awesome – more cool stuff to read! Thanks for adding to my (already long) reading list🙂

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,674 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
