the Little Red Reviewer

Being a part of the Vintage Party

Posted on: January 15, 2016

I’ve noticed something these last 2 weeks. maybe you’ve noticed the same?

 

I’ve noticed I didn’t get blog anywhere near as many VintageSciFi posts or book reviews as I’d hoped to.  I planned ahead, read some Vintage books in November and December (Heinlein’s Citizen of the Galaxy and a collection of Clark Ashton Smith stories), kept saying “I’ll write the review next weekend”. And then I never did.  Things came up, I was working, I was tired, whatever, life happens.  I said I’d write them over Christmas. I didn’t. I said I’d write them the first weekend of Janaury. I didn’t.   And now I’m too far away from the reading experience to write the reviews.   And with work going the way it is, and weekend travel coming up, how in the world will i find time to read them again, or *gulp* read something different?

 

I got really down about it. I was mad at myself at how much I’d been slacking off.  If I’d wanted to write the reviews, I would have found the time, right? Vintage Month is this little party that I started, and now I don’t even bother to show up with blog posts? are you kidding?

 

I had myself a little pity party on Twitter:

pity party 1-15-16

Among the responses, were these:

pity party responses 1-15-16
I read those, and practically cried.

About 24 hours later, it hit me.  I realized why I’d had such an emotional response to those tweets.

 

#VintageSciFi month isn’t my party anymore.  Sure, it’s nice if I show up, but it’s big enough that I don’t need to be the host, greeting people at the door, making sure everyone is having a good time, making sure there’s good music playing. I don’t need to be the most vintage-y blogger who ever vintage blogged.  I may have started this little party, but it’s not mine anymore.  It’s yours.  It belongs to everyone who picks up a Vintage SciFi Book, it belongs the bloggers, the tweeters, the instagrammers, the booktubers.

 

You’ve made it self sustaining!

 

Will I be able to get some Vintage posts up in the next couple of weeks?

I sure hope so.  But if I don’t, or if I get posts up that aren’t reviews, I’m suddenly OK with that.   And if I get some posts up that *aren’t* Vintage?  I’m Ok with that.  As it happens, I’ve got this early review of Robert Jackson Bennett’s City of Blades that really need to go live . . otherwise it would’t be an early review, now would it?

 

Read on my #VintageSciFi friends, read on!

8 Responses to "Being a part of the Vintage Party"

That’s a good attitude! You should give yourself credit for starting this. I come up with ideas for series of posts all the time but never follow through. You’ve inspired others to read some neglected books, which is commendable.

Liked by 1 person

I’m glad my tweet made you smile. Thank you for the book reviews! You’ve introduced me to many books I wouldn’t have found on my own.

Liked by 1 person

“You’ve introduced me to many books I wouldn’t have found on my own.”

my work here is done. 😀

Like

Absolutely spot on! I’ve just looked back at my cover posts and I think so far, out of the 15 posted – maybe 10, possibly 12 have been books that I’ve read as part of your Vintage Sci Fi event. Frankly, I’ll be lucky if I make it to 31 as I don’t know if I have enough vintage books read under my belt but without these events my vintage sci fi reads would have remained at The Time Machine, Frankenstein and The Shrinking Man plus maybe a couple more – I probably would have struggled to cover a week’s worth of posts!
Plus, I’ve had some great fun with some of these and would have been sorry to have missed them – Hitchhikers Guide, Flowers for Algernon, Journey to the Centre of the Earth!
Pat yourself on the back woman.
Lynn😀

Liked by 1 person

I’m actually totally stealing your cover art posts idea.

Like

You should! You have a ton of sci fi books so you’d have a riot choosing covers!

Like

Well, I have 2 more to write about, and I’m 70% done with Voyage to Arcturus—boy is that a weird one….

Like

I think it’s great you started this, and even though I haven’t posted much this time I am still trying to get a reviews or two in before the end of month. I think Vintage month is a great idea and I hope you keep doing it. It’s so nice to see some of these older books get attention.

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,676 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
