the Little Red Reviewer

The Best of 2015

Posted on: December 26, 2015

Is it just me, or did 2015 fly by in like two weeks? How did that even happen? It certainly was a crazy year – I started a new job, we moved into a bigger apartment, i learned a whole new definition of the work “workaholic”, I didn’t read nearly as much as I wanted.

Anyway, here is my annual “Best of the year” list, presented in no particular order, with links if you’d like to read my reviews.

The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson, easily my favorite novel of 2015.

The Bone Swans of Amandale – by C.S.E Cooney, in her short story collection Bone Swans

The Fifth Season, by N. K. Jemisin

Binti, by Nnedo Okorafor

Flex, by Ferrett Steinmetz

The Apex Book of World SF Vol 4 edited by Mahvesh Murad

Soft Apocalypse by Will McIntosh

Babel-17 by Samuel Delany

The Life of the World to Come, by Kage Baker

 

Honorable mentions for the year go to:

City of Blades by Robert Jackson Bennett. I read it in 2015, but can’t actually talk about how freaking amazing it was until 2016. So I guess it’ll have to make my best of 2016 list.

and this stuff, which is omg, what I always wished ginger ale would taste like. Also? it’s alcoholic.

ginger ale

2015 was a crazy year, and I don’t mind that it’s over.  I’ll see everyone on January 1st for Vintage Science Fiction month!

12 Responses to "The Best of 2015"

I tried the Not Your Father’s Root Beer and found that too awfully sweet, so was wary of the g.a. Round here we drink Blenheim (http://www.blenheimgingerale.com/), which is great even w/o the alc.

Couple of definite need-to-acquire on your list, particularly the Will McIntosh. Thanks for sharing!

Like

We tried the Root Beer too, found it very sweet and with a weird aftertaste. The GA is a little smoother all around.

Like

I have read not a single book on your best of list. That’s rather disturbing. (Baru Cormorant is on the horizon, and of course City of Blades.)
There seems to be something going around my favorite blogs lately of work/family crushing our reading and blogging time. I don’t see it ending any time soon for Two Dudes, but hope your life gets calmer!

Like

i read rather eclectically this year, and i know you read eclectic stuff too. But you haven’t read Baru Cormorant yet? Whaaah?

Family should always come first. But Work crushing out reading/blogging/fun stuff time is just so not fun for anyone. We were drastically understaffed at work, and now we’ve hired a bunch more people. So if they decide they like us, and stick around, life should be pretty good!

Like

I know – it was on my list, then got shunted aside. Totally my bag though, so I need to read it. Maybe after Brad Beaulieu’s newest and Dark Forest.
My work isn’t bad, but my wife started working a year ago. That was a wee bit of a change…. Still adjusting.

Like

Ah! I really want to read The Traitor Baru Cormorant!! I went to the Tor event in the Fall with with Seth, Ilana, and Fran, and picked up the book then. I really meant and wanted to get that book this month – but December had just been… I don’t know Haha I’ve only read one book and just stated my second two days ago.

I will read it though! I have a feeling it could be coming up for some award next year, and want to be able to say that I have already read it🙂

Also, heard the best way to describe the ending is: “Emotions”

Like

“Also, heard the best way to describe the ending is: “Emotions””

Dickinson pretty much drops the mike.

Liked by 1 person

Awesome list, Traitor Baru and Fifth Season were on my best-of list as well. I’m also so incredibly happy to hear that you loved City of Blades! I’m going to be reading that soon and you’ve gotten me even more excited.

Like

After reading your recommendations I decided to read Babel-17 by Samuel Delany. I’m about halfway through and I love it. A few months ago I started reading Dalgren but just couldn’t get into it at the time. Maybe I’ll go back to it.

Like

I actually just started Babel-17, and am planning to review it for Vintage SF Month! I’m enjoying it so far, glad to see the enjoyment is likely to continue to the end of the book🙂.

Kage Baker was a fantastic author, and I also very much liked “The Life of the World to Come”, and pretty much all the other Company books.

My 2015-published reading was really weak this year, though I really want to read Traitor Baru Cormorant and the 5th Season.

Like

Yes! I love best of lists. Flex is also coming up on my list – I loved that book – LOVED IT!
Also, I thought The Traitor was so good – I had a wobble (I think in the middle) but the ending – OMG.
I’ve not read The Fifth Season but it’s there on my radar and I will eventually pick up a copy.
Hope you’ve had a great holiday. All the best for New Year and I hope your workplace becomes a bit more sane with some more staff coming on board.
Lynn😀

Like

My favorite books of the year post is now up.

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,623 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
