the Little Red Reviewer

What I’ve been up to

Posted on: March 20, 2015

I haven’t gotten as much reading done lately as I would have like (workaholic + dayjob equals not enough hours in the day), but I’ve gotten some reading done. And hubby and I bought some books too!

icefall arcI recently finished Icefall by Gillian Philip. This is the fourth and last  book in her Rebel Angels series. It’s a Fey Urban Fantasy. Basically, the veil that separates the human world and the otherworld is breaking down. Should it be repaired? should it be torn down and the worlds combined? The Fae queen will do anything to destroy it, and Seth (who she names traitor) will do anything to protect the reputation of his brother, among other things. A series full of feels, passionate characters, betrayal, secret children and parentage, more secrets, long grudges, power plays, and did I mention feels? I gotta find time to review this baby, because yeah. Such a bittersweet ending. Such a fun, enjoyable, satisfying, braincandy bunch of books. Urban Fantasy and kicks in the feels For the Win.

but in the meantime, important question! which do you like better? the UK cover art, or the US cover art?

Icefall UK Cover Art

Icefall UK Cover Art

Icefall US cover art

Icefall US cover art

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

Brides story 3 and 4

Hubby and I are also working our way (ok, my way. he’s already finished all of them!) through A Bride’s Story, a manga by Kaoru Mori. I recently finished volumes 3 and 4, and I told hubby he was responsible for starting the discussion. these middle volumes start out so tragic, and then change gears to go towards the humorous. So many changes in feels! so many!

king maker brauddus

I’m about halfway through King Maker, by Maurice Broaddus. It’s a retelling of the King Arthur mythos, relocated to inner city Indianapolis. Reading this really has me rethinking about scenes that i’m ok with in low fantasy/epic fantasy, but that i probably shouldn’t be OK with. here’s to hoping I can finish this book over the weekend.

Once I finish King Maker, I’ll be diving into Aurora by Kim Stanley Robinson:

Aurora KSRAs soon as this beautiful ARC arrived in the mail, the hubby claimed it, and dove right it. I know he liked it, because he finished it in like three days. I asked him to tell me something about it without giving any spoilers, and he said “it’s like the High Frontier board-game”. um, ok. the game does have the most amazing board, so there’s that.

and then we purchased some goodies too – The Three Body Problem by Cixin Liu translated by Ken Liu, and the Upgraded anthology edited by Neil Clarke (seriously, if it’s got Clarke’s name on it, I’m going to buy it. because duh)

three bodyupgraded

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Hubby needs to read The Three-Body Problem before I do, because that book intimidates the shit out of me. (I know it shouldn’t intimidate me, but it just does. ok?) on a happier note, do you see that Julie Dillon cover art on Upgraded? See how awesome she is? Now go back her new Kickstarter. Because she’s like, freaking awesome.

 

hmm…. and that’s what I’ve been up to lately.  How about you? read anything good lately? purchased or libraried or otherwise acquired anything interesting lately?

8 Responses to "What I’ve been up to"

Reading Neal Ashers Dark Intelligence And Old Venus edited by Dozois and Martin. Enjoying both. Started The Burning Dark by Adam Christopher but didn’t like the writing and stopped reading it. Set to start the new Dan Simmons next week and The Death of Grass by John Christopher and Harrison Squared by Daryl Gregory on deck.

Like

I’ve been hearing really good things about Harrison Squared, let me know what you think of that one!

aw man, it’s been forever since I’ve read a Neal Asher, i really like him. need to find time to get back to his stuff.

Like

You just have to love Gillian Philip – she gave us Seth for which I will ever be in her debt. I know, I know, the books are awesome and it’s not all about Seth – but I do so love him!
I love the way you’re both sharing your books. My hubby doesn’t read the books I like – but, in fairness to him, he takes me all over the place in search of good bookshops!
I’d been looking at picking up a copy of the Three Body Problem but if you’re intimidated then no doubt I’ll be in big trouble. Maybe I’ll wait for your thoughts on that one!
Enjoy your weekend – and chill out you workaholic!
Lynn😀

Like

wait, Rebel Angels *isn’t* all about Seth? LIAR. because it is totally, all about him! *fangirl flail*

Hubby and I are both SFF fans, but we usually like very different things. I’ve tried to push plenty of Cat Valente on him over the years, and he’s tried to push plenty of Raymond Feist on me, both to mixed results.

Like

I read Murder As A Fine Art by David Morrell – it was pretty good. Then I just started reading The Blade Itself a couple days ago, which I’m really enjoying it is so far.

I still have to check out A Bride’s Story! I just haven’t been to a B&N in a while.

Like

The Blade Itself…. SO GOOD.

Like

New job has killed my reading and will quite likely slowly choke out the blog as well. But I am hoping to enjoy Aurora soon myself. May be it will jump start my reading again.

Like

Three-Body Problem was phenomenal, and I adored it. Definitely looking forward to the sequel, which I hear is even better than the first book!

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,676 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
