the Little Red Reviewer

Gardening + good drinks + mochi = happiness!

Posted on: June 14, 2013

Today is an amazing day.  Everywhere I look, something is making me smile, is making me feel good about the universe.  It’s a nice change of pace.

– Yesterday I reconnected with a good friend from high school, and also with a few other friends I haven’t heard from in a long time.

– I have a dinner date with my hubby later this evening.

but wait! there’s more!

Ready for a photo dump of everything else that’s got me smiling big today?

Went to the garden center to get a few more things for the garden, they had a carousel of topiary animals! I asked if I could take a photo and they said “we encourage it!” . It had a lion, a seahorse, a dinosaur and a horse.  how cool! And it’ll just look better as the summer progresses, because all the grasses and other plants will root and grow taller. by the end of the summer the animals will be completely green.

SAM_3244SAM_3240

So now my balcony garden looks even nicer with some trailing accent things. not so much dirt showing. I wish the basil would take off though.

Parsley,  Dichondra (I think), Basil,  Ivy, Zinnia w/Hypoestes and vine-y things.

Parsley, Dichondra (I think), Basil, Ivy, Zinnia w/Hypoestes and vine-y things.

Zinnias looking happy with their new non-flowering friends

Zinnias looking happy with their new non-flowering friends

almost the whole gang! Lavender and friends, green onions, Dahlia, Sun Coleus (with some done Snapdragons), gangly Tomato, and Gerbera Daisy.

almost the whole gang! Lavender and friends, green onions, Dahlia, Sun Coleus (with some done Snapdragons), gangly Tomato, and Gerbera Daisy.

Close up of super bright and happy Gerbera Daisy. Photo doesn't do it justice, it's fire engine red!

Close up of super bright and happy Gerbera Daisy. Photo doesn’t do it justice, it’s fire engine red!

in food and drink land, these made me smile too:

J.K. Scrumpy is to Woodchuck like, well, like Southern Tier is to Bud Light.  I’m a beer snob and proud of it!

J.K.'s Farmhouse Summer, J.K's Scrumpy Cider, and Southern Tier Creme Brulee

J.K.’s Farmhouse Summer, J.K’s Scrumpy Cider, and Southern Tier Creme Brulee

and Mochi!  Green Tea Mochi (rice pounded into sticky dough, stuffed with green tea paste) brings tears to my eyes every time I eat it.  It’s really dense too, so you’re not hungry for like 12 hours after eating one.

Green Tea Mochi. this stuff is a-freakin-mazing!

Green Tea Mochi. this stuff is a-freakin-mazing!

now it’s your turn. What’s making you smile today?

12 Responses to "Gardening + good drinks + mochi = happiness!"

You’re a nut and this post made me smile.
And watching our little 2 lb rooster trying to mate an 8 lb hen.

Like

I take the 8 pounder is like “yo. mosquito. get off me”?

Like

Nope. She doesn’t even notice his efforts and goes about hunting for seeds and worms. Yep. Seeds and worms get more notice than the little cocks.

Like

bwahahahaha!!!! poor rooster!

Like

Topiary animals? Guess they aren’t acquainted with THE SHINING…

Like

I’m not going to be the one to tell them about The Shining, that’s for sure!

Like

and now the Southern Tier Creme Brulee is making me smile. Smells like vanilla and caramel, tastes like Chocolate Stout. One of these days I need to get a sales gig with a brewery.

Like

Southern Tier Creme Brulee – do you eat it or drink it! Sounds fantastic! No wonder you’re smiling…
Lynn😀

Like

LOL, you drink it, even though it’s so gorgeously thick you can nearly chew it.

and then you wake up on the floor a little while later. or at least I do.😉

Like

So if you ever head out into the NW, I can easily arrange for a variety of homemade mochi dishes for you. Chocolate, ice cream, roasted, boiled in soup, etc. Your pick.

Like

Homemade Mochi? *Drroooooooool*

our friend at the Asian grocery says it’s not too hard to make if you start with the rice powder/flour. true?

Like

I’d have to ask the wife for details, but she makes it often from her bag of special rice flour. There’s also the mochi cakes that are pure pounded rice; it’s gummier and more solid than the stuff you make from flour.
(Disclosure: I almost hammered my grandmother-in-law’s head in with the mochi making mallet once, but that is another story.)

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,617 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
