the Little Red Reviewer

Haven’t posted in a while, because

Posted on: May 28, 2013

I haven’t posted in a while, because guess!  Guess where I got to go today!!!  These photos look like they were taken in a mermaid castle from a Tolkien book. Wait, what? Tolkien didn’t write about mermaids? bah!

One of my favorite scenes from the whole place!

One of my favorite scenes from the whole place!

Looks like a mermaid castle, right? a bit hard to tell which way is up.

Looks like a mermaid castle, right? a bit hard to tell which way is up.

Looking straight up.

Looking straight up.

they're people!!!   tell me you also see granny on the left and bearded grampa's profile to the right of her? or am I just nuts?

they’re people!!! tell me you also see granny on the left and bearded grampa’s profile to the right of her? or am I just nuts?

Hope you got your hardhat on, that thing looks like it could fall at any moment.

Hope you got your hardhat on, that thing looks like it could fall at any moment.

Any guesses yet? Here’s some hints:

There was a wishing well (all proceeds go to charity)

There was a wishing well (all proceeds go to charity)

There was a live musical performance!

There was a live musical performance!

This was the view from the parking lot. my ears popped a lot on the way.

This was the view from the parking lot. my ears popped a lot on the way.

any guesses?

I did get a smidgen of reading done. but not much.

Tags:

17 Responses to "Haven’t posted in a while, because"

Oooh, pretty!

Like

I wanna go back tomorrow and take more photos!

Like

I went spelunking at a summer camp back when I was in high school, and it was incredible. It’s amazing how breathtaking nature can be. 🙂

Like

and the photos don’t do this place justice. the colors don’t come through, the depth, nothing. the being there just doesn’t make it into flat images very well.

spelunking isn’t for me! I tried rock climbing once, at one of those indoor wall climbing places, it was a disaster. Heights don’t bother me, but the thought of falling terrifies me!

Like

Strangely, indoor rock climbing is one of the few athletic activities that I don’t completely suck at. I can’t run/jog to save my life. If I were being chased by zombies, they’d catch me within minutes and eat my brains. 🙂

Like

I have no idea where your photos were taken, but the idea of them is similar to Wookey Hole in the Cheddar caves (Yes, where the cheese is from, mined from deep down in the earth…) and in Somerset, where Tolkien (IIRC) took inspiration for the Shire (though I could be wrong on that, seeing there’s yokels all over the West Country of the UK).

Anyway, Wookey Hole was said to have a witch who turned to stone and can still be seen in the limestone caves. I visited Wookey when I was 6-7 or so, and was scared shitless by the whole thing, which is why I can’t say whether that’s Wookey Hole or not…

… so yeah… there you go.

Like

Wookey Hole? for a second there I thought you were making a Star Wars joke!😉

this place also had a ghost, of sorts. Husband said it scared the shit out of him when he was a kid. cracked up the whole tour group.

Like

Oddly enough, I’ve been a Star Wars fan too long and typed it as Wookiee, before realizing that wasn’t quite right. Had to wiki-it to find the proper spelling. Still, it is a very real place, though the cheese thing is a bit of send up. They don’t MINE IT. They GROW it…😉

Like

eating cheese that was mined does sound kinda freaky. not sure if “cave grown cheese” is any less freaky but I don’t plan to stop eating cheddar anytime soon, so I guess it can’t be too freaky!

Like

But the writing on the side of the van suggests Leray, or Leroy Caverns?
Luray Caverns? No idea where that is…😛

Like

My guess would be Mammoth Caves in KY. I was there once but afterward has bad dreams about getting trapped underground. So no more going into caves for me.

Like

I have no idea where that is but I want to goooo! *Jumps up and down*😉

Like

I have no idea where this is but it reminds me of Neptune’s Grotto which we visited in Sardinia. Absolutely gorgeous. It’s called a grotto because it actually looks like it has Christmas trees made from the Stalagmites. It was great to visit although I don’t think it would be for everyone – particularly if you don’t like tiny spaces, low ceilings, twisty paths (it was a bit like being a hobbit in the Mines of Moria. Fortunately I’m not very tall but one guy properly smacked his head on the roof *ouch*!
So, where are the pictures from ??????
Lynn:D

Like

Reminds me of Luray Caverns in Virginia. Gosh, seems like a lifetime ago that I saw that cave.

Like

If you guessed Luray Caverns in VA, you guessed correctly! You win the prize of, ummm…. knowing an awesome cave!

Like

I have been to the Carlsbad Caverns in NM several times and they are always amazing. Alien worlds? Nah….we got them right here, we just put them underground.

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,625 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
