the Little Red Reviewer

Wee Free Men Readalong part 1

Posted on: February 20, 2013

Welcome to the Wee Free Men readalong! Yes, we are reading Terry Pratchett and giggling and snorting various beverages out our noses! (the vanilla shake really hurt).

and it’s not too late to join the fun! Check out the reading schedule and more info over at Dab of Darkness, my co-host for a month of fun.  if you’re joining us for the fun, please leave a link to your post in the comments.

this week’s discussion questions were provided by nrlymrtl of Dab of Darkness. Go check out her blog, she’s got a growing collection of excellent book reviews, plus lots of read along goodness which is mighty tempting as well.

Anyways, onto the questions! my answers are after the “read more”.

1) Since I am a nosy person, I want to know if this is your first Terry Pratchett book for you? Do you enjoy the humor and writing style so far?

2) We’ve been introduced to Tiffany Aching’s world of shepherding and cheese making and her family. What about this quaint setting has caught your eye?

3) Ah, the Nac Mac Feegles! Can you understand their speech? Who or what do you think the kelda is?

4) Do you see a future for Tiffany at a witches’ school? Or do you think Ms. Tick will take on a mentor’s role?

5) Wentworth has gone missing and there is a Queen involved. What do think she wants with him? If this is a reread, then how do you like having one magical world (the Queen’s) nestled within the Discworld universe (Tiffany’s world)?

1) Since I am a nosy person, I want to know if this is your first Terry Pratchett book for you? Do you enjoy the humor and writing style so far?

A read a small handful of Terry Pratchett when I was in my 20s, The Color of Magic, Pyramids, The Truth, maybe one or two others. I think I’m finally old enough (and have had enough exposure to the British humor style) to really appreciate the humor! I very much appreciate that once you’ve read one of the early books and have an idea of the world, you don’t need to read the rest of the books in a specific order.

2) We’ve been introduced to Tiffany Aching’s world of shepherding and cheese making and her family. What about this quaint setting has caught your eye?

I think that’s it, that it’s quaint. A simpler lifestyle. I want to know more about Granny Aching!
3) Ah, the Nac Mac Feegles! Can you understand their speech? Who or what do you think the kelda is?

oh they are a riot!  their speech makes a little bit more sense when I read it phonetically, out loud, but still, half the words don’t mean much to me. omgosh, I LOVED the “drinkin’!”,  “fightin’!” ,  “stealing!”  . . .   “drinkin’ and fightin’!” conversation!  I read it like 3 times and then read it outloud to my other half, and now he thinks I’m crazy.

what’s the kelda?  I don’t know.  a diety? their wisewoman? I’ll have to keep reading and find out!

4) Do you see a future for Tiffany at a witches’ school? Or do you think Ms. Tick will take on a mentor’s role?

I don’t really see Tiffany as a formal schooling kind of girl. As soon as someone told her her sit and be quiet, or gave her some kiddie B.S. answer, or told her she has to wait till a certain semester to learn something specific, she’d be outta there.  If she waited until she graduated from witch school, her brother would be toast by then. She hasn’t got time for that, girl is just going tohave to learn on the fly. And with the Nac Mac Feegles helping her out, I think she’ll be OK.
5) Wentworth has gone missing and there is a Queen involved. What do think she wants with him? If this is a reread, then how do you like having one magical world (the Queen’s) nestled within the Discworld universe (Tiffany’s world)?

I have no idea what she wants with him.  But I know magical queens don’t go kidnapping mortal boys just for shits and giggles.  Does the queen need him so more monsters can come into our world? Or so *gasp* the Queen can be in our world permanently and maybe try to take it over?

The few other Discworld novels I read were in big cities, where everyone knew about the disc, with the turtle and the elephants and such. This one doesn’t feel like a Discworld novel, maybe because it’s out in the countryside, where the worldbuiling (and silliness of the world) isn’t front and center. you know?

12 Responses to "Wee Free Men Readalong part 1"

I like that these books take place out in the countryside and that the larger questions about the sex of the Great Turtle is not the hot topic over tea. No, folks in the country have real lives that involve real, tangible things – like sheep.

Like

I was muttering Feegle dialogue under my breath and giggling for a lot of this section. I would definitely agree that it’s easier to understand when you hear it vs. see it. I couldn’t figure out the word ‘kelda’ though. Maybe it has something of ‘elder’ in it?

Like

I’ve not read any of the Tiffany Aching books, but the Nac Mac Feegle play a prominent role in (I think) ‘Lords and Ladies’ (or maybe ‘Carpe Jugulum’ – sorry, but my memory for some of the details of Pratchett’s plots isn’t as good as it might be). There’s a fantastic bit where King Verence gets given lots of the Feegle alcohol and gets absolutely roaring, fighting drunk… The books featuring the witches do generally concentrate on country life – though I LOVE ‘Witches Abroad’, where they go off travelling to exotic Genua (a bit like a Discworld New Orleans, if you can imagine that).

Like

Good grief: a Discworld version of New Orleans . . . the real thing is surreal enough!😀

Like

[…] This week is the first part in a readalong of Terry Pratchett’s Wee Free Men being hosted jointly by Dab of Darkness and Little Red Reviewer. […]

Like

Makes me smile knowing you all are doing this, even though I don’t have time in my reading schedule right now to join in. Pratchett’s writing is a joy and I know whenever people are reading him they are getting a well-deserved injection of humor into their lives.

Like

Very nicely put! I fully believe in self-medicating depression with Terry Pratchett books.

Like

Hahahaha did you just say ‘shits and giggles’ roflmao!
Granny Aching is the business – I love all the old stories with her and her two dogs.
I’m definitely enjoying the wit – but then I’ve had A LOT of exposure to British humour (probably a little too much!!)
Lynn😀

Like

Yes, can’t beat a bit of good old, proper British humor!😀

Like

1. You are so right about the reading order. It is so unusual to have a world that you can dip in and out of without losing out too much.

2. I could offer a translation service . . . for a minor fee!😀

If you like this, you should try The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents . . . it has a similar feel only with talking rats instead of the Feegles!

Like

1) Regarding the reading order, I’ve practically made a habit of reading these as far out of order as possible (not deliberately…mostly not deliberately…) I think I’ll try to tackle Tiffany Aching in order though…one down, need to get to the rest…

On your last note, this definitely feels more removed than the other Discworld books, maybe just because we’re out of Ankh-Morpork. Although, when I read this, I hadn’t encountered the witches in a big way yet, so it might feel more connected now…

Like

sorry i’ve been shit in responding to comments, had some personal stuff come up, but i will get to responding as soon as I can.

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,623 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
