the Little Red Reviewer

come on, everybody’s doin’ it.

Posted on: December 27, 2010

Behold!  LRR’s end of year listy thing!  (Yay peer pressure!)

Favorite book of 2010: Zoo City by Lauren Beukes.  Words can not describe how much I loved this book. It turned me into a blabbering fangirl.

Favorite newly discovered author of 2010Joe Abercrombie.  Okay, so his First Law trilogy was published before 2010, but I read, no, I devoured this trilogy during the second half of 2010.  this is the uncut good shit.

Best twist in a SF/F novel:  Mark Hodder’s Springheeled Jack. If you’ve read it you know what I’m talking about. If you haven’t read it,  you still have a few days of vacation left, so what are you waiting for?

Favorite newly discovered character is a  Big ole tie between:  Joe Abercrombie’s Sand dan Glotka, Lauren Beukes’ Zinzi December, and Mike Resnick’s Doc Holliday. Me, have a weakness for tragic characters? no way!

Favorite graphic novel Rising Stars by J. Michael Strazcynski.  It’s not new, but it was new to me.

Favorite Manga:  Nana, by Ai Yazawa.  I love Shojo.  Who knew?

Book most looking forward to in 2011: Wise Man’s Fear, by Patrick Rothfuss

what were your favorites for 2011?

4 Responses to "come on, everybody’s doin’ it."

I’ll be doing mine in a few days. It is a post I look forward to each and every year.

You have some interesting categories. I like the ‘newly discovered character’ category and the ‘best twist in a sf/f novel’ one as well. I have yet to read any of these books that you mention but, other than Zoo City, I’ve at least heard of them all.

I promised a friend of mine that I would read Name of the Wind before too terribly long. It was his favorite read this past year and he really wants me to be a part of this trilogy with him. And, since he is a dear friend, reading what I expect will be a damn good book is the least I can do for him.


Have a happy and fabulous reading year 2011!!


I’ll be putting my favourite books and a review of the year up later this week, or possibly New Years Day.


join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,443 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF


FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
