the Little Red Reviewer

. . . To Reach This Season

Posted on: December 1, 2010

The sun has set. the box of candles sits on the corner of the table, the Menorah front and center. we’ve turned out most of the lights in the apartment. 

I’m through the first two prayers and since there are only two candles to light this evening, I’m in no danger of the match burning my fingers before I can finish.

It’s always right about the time the smell of burning wick and melting wax hits my nostrils that I get to my favorite part:

Barukh atah Adonai Eloheinu melekh ha‑olam, she‑hechiyanu v’kiy’manu v’higi’anu la‑z’man ha‑ze.

Blessed are You, Eternal our God, Ruler of the Universe, who has kept us alive, and sustained us, and enabled us to reach this season.

Everynight, for eight nights, we light a Menorah and add one additional candle everynight. But only once is the Shehechiyanu recited. I only get one chance for that magical moment.

Maybe it’s the melody.  maybe it’s the smell of the wax and the match, or the sound they make as they burn.  Maybe it’s because the words above were some of the first foreign words to pass my lips when I was a child. Regardless, even an atheist, secular, academic Jew like myself finds a meditative calm in those words.

3 Responses to ". . . To Reach This Season"

Happy Chanukah! My favorite part of candle lighting is the singing of Ma’oz Tzur, especially now that my kids are all old enough to read the words and sings along.

Like

Happy Chanukah to you as well! 🙂 I know the melody to Maoz Tzur, but I only know snippets of the words. 😦

Like

Lovely post.

I so enjoy lighting the menorah! There is just something so meditative about candlelight and the prayer. I love saying Barukh atah Adonai in particular. So pretty.

Happy Hanukkah!

Like

join the conversation

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,674 other followers

Follow the Little Red Reviewer on WordPress.com

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
