the Little Red Reviewer

Yet more new arrivals.

Posted on: June 2, 2014

A little bit of everything here: bought new, bought used, received from publishers, gotten from paperbackswap.  Some new goodies on the kindle too. Those are much harder to photograph.

What looks good to you?

Goodies from Orbit and Tachyon:

2014-06-01 19.37.52

Yesterday’s Kin by Nancy Kress

We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory

The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R. Carey

The Very Best of Fantasy & Science Fiction  Vol 2, edited by Gordon Can Gelder

 

purchased new:

2014-06-01 19.36.49

Bird Box by Josh Malerman – have already read this, and omgIntense! Look for a book review soon.  Josh Malerman is doing a booksigning in my city later this week, I am super excited for that!

The Graveyard Book by Kage Baker – book 4 of Baker’s Company series. Looks like this is a Joseph book? sweet.

Life’s Lottery by Kim Newman – randomly saw it at the bookstore, and omg you guys, it’s a choose your own adventure book! it’s a different story every time you read it!!! and hello, it’s a choose your own adventure book!   Maybe this time I won’t get eaten by the dragon.  Because you know, I am tasty with ketchup.

 

 

Purchased used and from paperback swap:

2014-06-01 19.38.30

Illusion by Paula Voksly

This Immortal by Roger Zelazny

The Jesus Incident by Frank Herbert and Bill Ransom

Players at the Game of People by John Brunner

 

 

And some E-book anthologies, to round out the goodies:

(these were all provided either directly by the publisher, or by other venues I review for)

4 e-books

 

Long Hidden: Speculative Fiction From The Margins of History, edited by Rose Fox and Daniel Jose Older, featuring fiction by Nnedi Okorafor, Nicolette Barischoff, Ken Liu, Tananarive Due, Sofia Samatar, Thoraiya Dyer and more. I’ve already finished reading this one, so look for a review soon!

Apex Book of World SF Vol #3, edited by Lavie Tidhar, featuring fiction by Athena Andreadis, Amal El-Mohtar, Karin Tidbeck, Xia Jia, Benjanun Sridaungkaew and more

Clarkesworld Year 6, edited by Neil Clarke and Sean Wallace. Featuring a boat load of award winning and award nominated fiction, including Catherynne Valente’s Fade to White and Silently and Very Fast, Immersion by Aliette de Bodard, and Mantis Wives by Kij Johnson. Also featuring David Klecha and Tobias Buckell, Suzanne Church, Sarah Stanton, Robert Reed, and a ton more people. This one I think is going to take me a while to get through.  But even so…. watch for a review soon!

Lightspeed Magazine special issue Women Destroy Science Fiction, with short stories, flash fiction, essays and interviews. Another one that might take me a while to get through.

 

Alright kids, what looks good? What should I prioritize?  If all of these books were sitting on your coffee table, which would YOU read first?

 

10 Responses to "Yet more new arrivals."

Ooh, so jealous! (But that’s what you intended right? :)

I’ve had no luck getting a review copy of The Girl With All the Gifts so it’s on my shopping list. Looking forward to We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory. I’m always on the lookout for good horror.

Like

if you want good horror, keep your eye out for Bird Box, that book scared the shit out of me. I finished it on Saturday, and I am STILL scared.

Like

Ah, thanks for the rec!

Like

Hmmmm! My picks: F&SF and then “Yesterday’s Kin”

Like

yeah, the F&SF is swimming it’s way to the top of the priority list!

Like

I cannot wait for The Girl With All the Gifts. That just looks so good. I’ll be interested to see what you think about the various anthologies; I almost never pick them up, but have been tempted lately by a few.

Like

SWEET!!!!! It looks like you struck gold. Some of those are pretty damn good pieces of work. I hope that you enjoy them. :)

Like

You has all the books!
Like the look of Bird Box – have been eyeballing that!
Lynn :D

Like

I’d read Yesterday’s Kin first, because I haven’t read it yet but I like other novels by Nancy Kress. Then I’d (re)read Illusion and This Immortal, because I like both of those (and have my own copies, although they’re packed away in some box where I can’t get to them — arrghh!)

Like

Volsky, because I have been meaning to try her for years and just keep not remembering too when actually looking.

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,137 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
