the Little Red Reviewer

This is why I’m never caught up.

Posted on: May 4, 2014

I never get caught up on all the stuff I want to read, because I keep buying more stuff. that I want to read.  Such is the life of a book-aholic.

2014-05-03 14.13.51

Mendoza in Hollywood by Kage Baker – I am slowly filling out my Kage Baker Company collection.  She’s one of those authors who I just collect. period.

The Best Japanese Science Fiction Stories – Couldn’t say no to this one!  this one is especially interesting because it’s from 1989. It’s a short collection, I read the whole thing in an afternoon.  I should probably write a review, yeah?

The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle – can you believe I’ve never read this? nope, me neither!  I suppose I better see what all the fuss is about.

2014-05-03 14.14.17-1

Matter by Iain M. Banks. Did I say Kage Baker is an author I collect? yeah, Banks too.  I’m even picking up his non-genre fiction anytime I find it.

House of the Rising Sun came in the mail from Orbit. I’ve read some not-so-good reviews of this one, so it’ll either end up donated to the library, or I’ll read it as a drinking game.

Yay for new Asimovs!  Always good gems in these.

 

and my crowning achievement, was buying a copy of this (and yes, it’s awesome)

2014-05-03 14.14.34

and an e-book copy of Jason Sizemore’s collection, Irredeemable!  I’m about a third of the way through, and Jason, there are some very scary things happening inside your mind.

iredeemable

I’m reading my way through the May issue of a brand new science fiction magazine, Bast1on, which is really stinkin’ good:

basti0n magazine

and I recently blasted my way through this gorgeous baby:

city-of-stairs-Bennett

This, my friends, is why I am never caught up.  books are as irresistible as kittens. I want to pick them up, pet them, let them purr on my lap for a while.

21 Responses to "This is why I’m never caught up."

Yes, City of Stairs is a beautiful looking book. I have always wanted to read The Last Unicorn too. And Vandameer. And more of Banks. And… Ya, I am never going to get caught up either.

Like

City of Stairs was pretty damn awesome. These are good Vandermeers to start with, because they are relatively short novels.

Like

If there was a book store within a 30minute drive, that is what I would be doing this morning. Sigh…..

Luckily, there is smashwords and kindle and netgalley and eidelweiss…..

I finally read The Last Unicorn a few years ago. Loved the cartoon as a kid. The book was even better.

Like

I’ve never even seen the Last Unicorn cartoon. :( Don’t know a thing about it, except that everyone says how good it is.

I need to move way out into the country. so that I’m not surrounded by bookstores!

Like

I also got House of the Rising Sun from Orbit. I’m actually quite curious about it, so maybe I’ll read it for the both of us (though drinking game sounds fun too) :)

And I just finished reading Annihilation this morning! I’d picked it up thanks to your review. Wasn’t sure how I would take to it, given all the reviews about the “weird” vibes in this book, but I loved it! Very much looking forward to Authority.

Like

If you pick up Rising Sun anytime soon, let me know how the first 40 pages or so go. As it stands right now, this one is in the “trade in” bin.

Happy to hear you liked Annihilation! It is definitely weird, but a similar flavor of weird as Vandermeer’s previous books. I’m about a third of the way through Authority, and it’s different weird.

Like

The Japanese collection is pretty good. I reviewed it … 18 months ago? But maybe you already knew that. :p Some unexpected stuff in there.

I also have a copy of Matter that I found for $5 at B&N awhile back. Couldn’t say no.

Like

*wanders over to reread your review….. *

Like

I first read The Last Unicorn last year. It’s never too late. Loved City of Stairs. It seems I just really like his books. I have read two and was amazed by both.

Like

I really enjoyed Bennett’s American Elsewhere and The Troupe. So many authors are getting contracted for trilogies these days, it’s so refreshing to find a great author who is writing really good shit that’s all stand alones!

Like

Ooh the cover of Bast1on is really gorgeous. And I have to say this: I CANT F-IN WAIT TO GET MY HANDS ON AUTHORITY *dies of jealousy at all the people who have it already*

As for The Last Unicorn, I read it when I was ten or so, and it didn’t make much of an impression on me. I’m curious to know if it would now.

Like

oh shit, I probably wasn’t supposed to brag about having it early. my bookseller friends spoil me ROTTEN. do you hear that bookseller friends? you know who you are!

Like

*GASPS* Your bookseller friends broke the sacred vow of secrecy and let stuff out of the hat early? Wowzer. They must be some good friends. When I worked at a bookstore they used to make us sign crazy papers promising death and first-born children should we leak anything early. But that might also have something to do with the fact that I worked there during HP madness.

Like

shhhh! don’t tell anyone, I’ll get in trouble!!

My Mom worked at a Barnes and Noble during the HP Madness, the boxes of books were kept under lock at key, not to be touched! until the midnight release party. Wasn’t there some story that came out during one of those release parties that a kid flipped to the last chapter while standing in line with their Mom, and screamed out “Sirius dies at the end! ” and everyone freaked out! As excited as everyone is for the Vandermeer books, I don’t think this is quite the fervor of Harry Potter.

Like

Good luck with the Beagle. I tried a couple of times and gave up on it, but you are so much a better reader than I.

Like

what about it didn’t you like? I trust you to give me a better idea of what I’m getting myself involved in.

Like

Well, it’s been a looong time, but my recollection is that it was just slow and clunky, the writing a little antiquated. It just didn’t grab me enough to keep going. Maybe it will be better for you, hope so.

Like

I feel your pain! My drive home from work takes me right by Powell’s, which is where a lot of my paycheck goes.

Like

I try to score business trips to certain cities, because I want to visit certain bookstores there. LOL, we need a twelve step program!

Like

Oooh yeah I feel you on the book tourism thing. The first thing I do when we figure we’re going somewhere is to map out all the used book stores.

Like

I’m trying to stop myself from buying new books, but it’s relatively impossible. :P

Enjoy your reading!

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,163 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
