the Little Red Reviewer

When I say “I Eat Books Like That For Breakfast”, what I mean is

Posted on: April 10, 2014

EdibleBook poster rev tabloid

When I say “I eat books like that for breakfast”, what I mean is that I eat them for dessert. literally*.  Around the world, on or around April Fool’s Day is The Edible Books Festival.  Our local Edible Books evening was the first Friday of April. Hosted by the Kalamazoo Book Arts Center, over twenty smart, funny, and punny edible books awaited judgement (and eating!).   Being a play on words, or a pun of some kind certainly wasn’t a requirement, but all of my favorites were word plays of some kind. observe the deliciousness! Warning – photo dump and awful photography ahead.

"Dive-rgent"

“Dive-rgent”

James and the Giant Peach (is that James on the left side of the punch bowl?)

James and the Giant Peach (And poor James is barely holding on by his green pepper hands)

Harry Potter and the Camembert Secret, served with a bottle of Harry Porter.

Harry Potter and the Camembert of Secrets, served with a bottle of Harry Porter.

The Brothers Carrot-Matzah

The Brothers Carrot-Matzah (doesn’t look that tasty, but great timing!)

Hop(s) on Pop

Hop(s) on Pop (one of my favorites!)

A Game of Scones.  (this joke is never, EVER going to get old!)

A Game of Scones. (this joke is never, EVER going to get old!)

The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars (I think I was the only one who laughed at this one)

Bun Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

Bun Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

Banana Karenina

Banana Karenina

A Clockwork Orange

A Clockwork Orange (Finally! A family friendly verson!)

The Hobbit. No puns here, just foodtastic gorgeousness.

The Hobbit. No puns here, just foodtastic gorgeousness.

 

Anyone got any good ideas for a visual play on words of an edible book?  All I’ve come up with so far is Chord of the Rings, where it’s a bunch of onion rings on guitar frets, with the caption “one chord to rule us all”.

*see? I used “literally” correctly!

 

About these ads

8 Responses to "When I say “I Eat Books Like That For Breakfast”, what I mean is"

Hop on Pop is great, but isn’t pop a very regional term? I never leave my little area of the country, so I am not sure how widespread it really is.

I would eat the Pies of Locke Lamora though, they would have a deceptively good center.

Like

We don’t say “pop” in California either, Nathan.

Like

“pop” for soda I think is a midwest thing? Very funny for us midwesterners who never leave our corners of the world. ;)

omg, Pies of Locke Lamora! love it!

Like

This is hysterical. I’ve never heard of this food festival, so cool! And I would NOT eat any of these, that would just be weird.

Like

I didn’t know until recently that it was an international thing, I thought it was a local thing hosted by one of the bakeries.

there were plenty of people at the event who were very happy to eat the cakes and snacks. the kids love it, because no one can yell at them to not play with their food. :D

Like

You know, if you truly wanted to be abstract you could have arranged to turn up late once all the cake had gone and claim you’ve won with “The Hunger Games”? No?

Like

but would I need to be hungry when I showed up late? ;)

Like

It might be a good idea to not eat before arriving, yes!

Like

join the conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,119 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
%d bloggers like this: