the Little Red Reviewer

holy huge responses, batman!

Posted on: March 12, 2014

hot damn that was a lot of responses to my post yesterday on how we decide what to read next!  just…. wow!  Thanks to everyone who responded, it’s going to take me a while to respond to everyone’s comments, please don’t hate me too much.

There was something that prompted that post.  I ordered a couple of titles I’ve been meaning to buy for a long time. I requested a few ARCs from publishers (I try to only request something that I KNOW I am going to read). I found some old stuff I wanted on paperback swap.

Everything showed up at the same time, nearly gave the poor mailman a coronary.  and this doesn’t include the three other ARCs I requested, which should show up any day.

Thanks to an Amazon giftcard I   purchased:

Miserere 3 parts dead

I did specifically request the Jon Sprunk, but the others were just happy surprises. Sent to me by very kind and friendly publishers:

canavan sprunk lafferty

Blood and Iron by Jon Sprunk

Thief’s Magic by Trudi Canavan

Ghost Train to New Orleans by Mur Lafferty

williams morrow phillip

the Very Best of Tad Williams, by Tad Williams

The Madonna and the Starship by James Morrow – this looks very cool and funny, btw

Wolfsbane by Gillian Philip – and oh how I LOVE THIS SERIES!!  So this is a priority, but the book doesn’t hit shelves till the summer.

 

this doesn’t count anything that’s still in the TBR pile sitting on the coffee table. It’s no surprise that I’m feeling a little overwhelmed.  So what did I pick up to read?   This baby from paperback swap. I’m 50 pages in and it’s hysterical. Sometimes you just need a fun, light comfort read.

2014-03-11 21.05.42

talk to ya soon!

5 Responses to "holy huge responses, batman!"

I need to read everyone’s comments to that post because I’ve been thinking exactly the same thing not long ago.
How to choose among the multitude of titles I have and how not to miss the amazing books out there I have no idea exist?
Recently I read the World War Z but if not for the movie, I don’t think that book would ever have found a way to me and I loved it.
I am a bit sad thinking how man great books out there I’m missing?
And then there is a whole new problem of being overwhelmed by the choices in front of me and not being able to choose so I re-read some of the books I enjoyed previously. :)

Like

I do like me some Heinlein…sometimes the oldies are the goodies. :)
I’ve just finished reading Heinlein’s The Unpleasant Profession of Jonathan Hoag , a collection of his short stories. If you like Robert A. Heinlein I highly recommend it!
(I’m also partially into his The Past Through Tomorrow collection, but it’s a bit slow going)

Like

Oo, make sure to tell us how Miserere is! I read a rave of it somewhere — The Millions maybe? — that made it sound quite amazing.

Like

Read Miserere first! Because, I just bought it and need confirmation that I am going to love it. And you should have requested The Barrow instead, it was the best new Pyr book of the season.

Like

Don’t let that Heinlein give you any ideas about getting yourself frozen, kiddo. I was surprised by the similarities in the way people approach what to read. Since I don’t solicit ARCs, and skip e-books, that narrows my process way down, but it seems everyone accepts mood, library priority and shifting genre to genre. Great minds approaching problem solving in a similar way.

Great Batch-O-Books, by the way.

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,165 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
