the Little Red Reviewer

Blind date with a book?

Posted on: December 20, 2013

I love this idea of book blind dates.  You don’t know the title, don’t know the author, can’t see what the cover looks like. You just get a little bit of information, like if it’s a fantasy, or a memoir, or alternate history, or a thriller.  No strings attached, no commitment, but it’s a neat way to try something that you might not have picked up otherwise.

946786_506670486054314_197411284_n

enhanced-buzz-27995-1360601233-8

Today’s totally chillaxed year end discussion question is:

What words or phrases written on the outside of a book blind date would make you pick it up?

I think mine would include:

adventure

fun dialog

plot twists and turns

non-human characters

10 Responses to "Blind date with a book?"

I like yours, but also strong female characters are a good thing. Frankly this is fun, but it still doesn’t mean I would actually read the book once I got it home… I am too impulsive.

Like

Hmm…. let’s see…
Twisted
nitty-gritty
1 or 2 steamy scenes, but not the whole book
interesting weapons

And what does that tell people about me? hmmm….

Like

These are really fun, although the digital versions are slightly less so.

I’d like to see
Hard science fiction
Space travel
Alien culture
Action

Like

I think mine would be some combination of:
Anti-hero
Challenging traditional gender roles
Little/No romance
Non-traditional story structure

I’m not always the best at predicting what I’ll like, though :).

Like

Witty
low magic
adventure
unique setting

Like

Oh this is a marvelous idea! I’ve never had a Book blind date!! HmmmI think mine would be
– witty humor
– Intergalactic travel
– Meet new species and conquer them
– telepathic creatures

OR!!

– Hurts so good
– Will make you cackle madly in a corner
– Monsters, mayhem and murder most foul

Like

I absolutely love everything about this idea. I’m going to find a way to make it happen at a local book store.

Like

Hahaha, I don’t know if there’s much that would induce me to read a book sight unseen. I like knowing what to expect! I like knowing who the characters are and what the outline of the plot will be.

Like

I just love this idea and want to use it – right now!! It’s so intriguing – I’d love to choose a book based on this.
What would I look for. *scratches head*
Makes me laugh
Makes me tense
Fantasy but not necessarily epic
Dark, mysterious.
Lynn :D
Did I mention that I want to do this!!

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,167 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
