the Little Red Reviewer

November is SciFi Month!

Posted on: November 1, 2013

Well, every month is scifi – fantasy month around here, isn’t it?  Yeah, but this month is soooper speshul, because I get to participate in Sci-Fi Month hosted by Rinn Reads!  What she’s put together is nothing short of amazing – fifty bloggers, over 20 authors, even publishers!  Go check it this incredible schedule she’s got going, there is everything from Doctor Who to H. G. Wells to e-book giveaways to Orphan Black discussions to Final Fantasy video games, really, just everything.  don’t tell io9 about this, they’ll be jealous.

And what have I got in store for you?

hmmm…. hows about some author interviews, a guest post, some Kage Baker awesomeness, a Cory Doctorow review, buckets of short fiction, and oh yeah, an announcement about everyone’s favorite January blogging activity hosted by yours truly.  Not to mention we’re up to our eyeballs in our read along of Scott Lynch’s The Republic of Thieves.

* * * * * * * *

Edited to add the answers to the questions Rinn put up on her intro post for SciFi Month:

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.

1. I’m in my 30s,  live in the Midwest of the US, and my apartment looks like a library threw up.  I just can’t stop getting and reading books!   In the last few years I started attended small science fiction and fantasy conventions, and have gotten hooked on that too. My  blog focuses mainly on SF/F book reviews, and I write the occasional column over at SFSignal.

 

2. How long have you been a fan of sci-fi?

Loved scifi as a kid, grew up watching Star Wars on VHS (ha! i just dated myself!).   Got out of it for a bit when I was in my 20s, and then fell back into hardcore around age 30. Once I finally learned that there is more to fantasy than Lord of the Rings (I’m not a fan. at all. it’s cool, you can boo me off the stage), I fell hard for fantasy too.

 

3. Why do you like sci-fi, and what is your favourite thing about it?

I love science fiction because everything is possible.  No one ever says “no, you can’t do that”.  I love that science fiction is a safe place to explore dangerous subjects.  I love that in science fiction I can be anyone, go anywhere, do everything. I open that book and I can leave my boring, unfulfilling dayjob behind.

4. Favourite books/games/films/TV shows in the genre?

Some of my favorite authors are Kage Baker, Catherynne Valente, Scott Lynch, Jeff Vandermeer, China Mieville, John Love, Steven Brust, Frank Herbert, and Iain Banks. I tend to enjoy space opera, and while I don’t usually go for violent or action heavy stories, I do love the darker stuff.   I’m a HUGE fan of the Alien movie franchise and old school Star Wars. my Doctor is number ten. ;)

5. What are your plans for Sci-Fi Month?

In the pipeline already, I’ve got an awesome interview with Gareth Powell, an interview with the editors and publisher of the upcoming War Stories military scifi anthology, a review of Makers by Cory Doctorow, a review of a collection of Kage Baker short stories put out by Tachyon publications, and hopefully I’ll have time to finish and review a Peter Watts short story collection too.

 

 

Yay November!  it’s got more than just pie and turkeys, you know. ;)

mmm.... PIE.

mmm…. PIE.

mmm.... tur-HOLY SHIT IS THAT WHAT A TURKEY LOOKS LIKE? WE EAT WEIRD LOOKING BIRD-THINGS?

mmm…. tur-HOLY SHIT IS THAT WHAT A TURKEY LOOKS LIKE? WE EAT WEIRD LOOKING BIRD-THINGS?

22 Responses to "November is SciFi Month!"

Sounds like fun!

Like

So. Much. Fun. Can’t wait for your interview with Gareth – I plan to have one of his books reviewed soon for this. :D

Like

[…] to a fellow book blogger, I discovered that November is SciFi Month hosted by Rinn Reads.  If you’ve got a few […]

Like

Envious! Not only am I falling behind on books to read, now I will be falling behind on articles and interviews as well.

Like

Hmm. Can’t edit my comment. Oh well.

I also envy Rinn and the time she can put into her blog. I wouldn’t sleep if I tried to post every day.

Like

I don’t know how I have the time either – I come home from work and immediately start working on it. I don’t normally post every day, just for this month! ;) Luckily I started planning in August…

Like

Oh, fun! I’ll have to check back and see what you’ve got going on during the month. I mostly stick to children’s and YA sci-fi these days…

Like

Sounds great! I need to go and see what sci fi I have…
Lynn :D

Like

Haha, I love the description of your apartment =D Sounds amazing!

Your reason for loving sci-fi is exactly the same as mine. And yay for Alien! I’m still on the fence about my Doctor. Sometimes it’s Ten, sometimes Eleven.

I’m looking forward to your posts, hopefully we shall find some new sci-fi converts ;D

Like

Sounds like you have some great plans for this month! Looking forward to reading all your posts.

Your description of what you like in science fiction sounds a lot like what I like, too. I especially love space opera, and I like dark books, but I’m not usually a fan of action heavy books.

Like

It’s going to be a really busy and fantastic month! Can’t wait to check out your posts. :)

Hi there! I’m Ara and I’m new to this site. This is really cool coz I’m discovering more blogs to follow and more.

I will definitely check out the authors you’ve included in here. :)

Like

Looking forward to seeing what you’ve got on tap for November.

Like

I definitely agree that sci-fi is great because of all the questions it explores!

Like

Goody, goody, some love for Kage Baker! I am in the process of acquiring all of her Company books. That series remains one of my favorite reading experiences ever — it was so much fun! Kage Baker. She was awesome.

Like

I’ve only read a few of the company stories, and loved them all!!! Have you read her Anvil of the World? it’s a stand alone fantasy, and absolutely hysterical!

Like

Okay kiddo, here you go.
1. I wish I could get rid of that stupid icon that shows up here on my posts.
2. You think the turkey looks weird in that picture, look at one without the feathers sometime.
3. Check my next Wednesday post. You can help me decide what to read next

Your eleventh month sounds great. Be sure and include some of the old stuff in there, and will you be seeing ENDER’S GAME?

Like

you mean the little monster avatar in the top right corner? I think it is adorable!!! it looks like a christmas tree dressed up like a blue meanie. what could be cuter than that?

i actually prefer them without feathers. without feathers, and ready to go into the oven!

tweet me on Wednesday, I gotta work weird hours, and a tweet will ensure i see your post. :D

ehhh, I’m gonna skip on the Ender’s Game movie for now. I’m a huge fan of the book, and the preview looks like the butchered the books to hell. kept all the action/violence/explosions, left out all the politics, dreams, important stuff. Go see it, tell me how it is, OK?

Like

1. Well, if YOU think it’s cute, okay then, I guess.
2. I meant no feathers but head and all attached. Still better than a cow, right?
3. I no Tweet, no F-book. Post goes up Wed am pacific coast time, stays as top post until Friday when another post slips above it. The post is a photo of a stack of books I have on top of TBR, you vote which I read next.
4. It’s been a loooong time since I read Enders’ Game, but I’m going to see the flick. I’m mostly worried about how they handle the ending.

Like

Oh, here’s another. You said “Loved scifi as a kid, grew up watching Star Wars on VHS (ha! i just dated myself!).” Nope, that would have been if you’d said “Loved scifi as a kid, loved watching Star Trek on TV.” which is what I did. So there…………. :-)

Like

When the episodes were brand new, of course.

Like

ha ha, you old fart! :D

can’t wait to see your vote-able TBR list!

Like

[…] in the event for new fans – Rinn, Nara, William, Laura, KJ, Stormy, Damien, Ara, Lianne, Andrea, Lisa, Charlene, Michael, Sarah, Anna, Shannon, Kelley, Emma, Sana, Kirsty, Annie, Kritika, Tory, […]

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

  • RT @ferretthimself: Wonder what would happen if a black officer shot a white open-carry dude and told us he was in fear for his life. 2 hours ago
  • also, my husband has discovered that layering thanksgiving leftovers in a bowl is the Best Thing Ever. 7 hours ago
  • I'm way too entertained by the Generation Gap of reactions to the new #StarWarsEpisodeVII trailer. 7 hours ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,211 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
