the Little Red Reviewer

Hugo Nominated Novels

Posted on: July 22, 2013

I’ve been reviewing a lot of the other big Hugo categories recently, and now it’s finally time for the nominees for best novel.  It’s a nice varied group, including a fantasy adventure from a debut novelist, a nostalgia/homage humor piece, two space operas and a post apocalyptic thriller. An author who wins this award will forever be known as “So and so, author of the Hugo award winning Such and Such! let’s give them a big round of applause!”  Future printings of their novel will forever say “Hugo Award Winner”.

yeah, it’s sort of a big deal. You can learn more about the Hugo awards here.

This years nominees for Best Novel are:

The links above go to the novels I reviewed earlier this year, and I’ve got a review for Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance going up in a couple days, hopefully shortly followed by a review of Blackout by Mira Grant.  My voting will remain secret, but if you read the reviews carefully I’ll bet you can figure out what I liked the best.

 

In the meantime, which of these novels have you read? What did you think of them?

6 Responses to "Hugo Nominated Novels"

I’ve at least read “Redshirts,” so that’s something. And I have “Throne of the Crescent Moon” and “2312” on my list of books that I want to read. Just haven’t read them yet, though.

Like

I have read three of the 5 Books. I haven’t read 2312, but I am trying to free up some time to soon. I also haven’t read Bujold’s book. For a while I have been considering starting that series, but I am not sure where to actually begin it, and I get different tips on which book to start first from different people.

Of the three I have read, I loved Blackout. My favorite book of 2012, but it is totally in my wheelhouse. I liked Redshirts, but wasn’t blown away. It was light and fun, but got a bit tiresome at times. Throne is a great book, and my favorite fantasy of 2012, but I tend to fall more on the SF side of the SFF spectrum.

Like

2312 has been floating around my “to-read” since it came out, but friends that have read it have put it in the “good-not great” category.

I read and enjoyed Redshirts, but I thought it strayed into a little too much “look how clever I am” self-indulgence at times.

Like

2312 going away. I admit I’ve only read that and Redshirts, but I don’t think anything else from 2012 matches the vision, relevance, and engagement that KSR brings. I can see why he might not be for everyone, but nothing else I read last year made me think like 2312 did.

Like

The only one on that list I’ve read is Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance, and while Bujold is one of my favourite authors… boy, does that book NOT deserve the award. IMHO it’s a pale shadow of the earlier books (such as Memory, which deserved it far more.)

Like

really? I Loved Capt Vorpatril’s Alliance. i was pretty surprised to see RedShirts on the ballot, though.

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,165 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
