the Little Red Reviewer

Another Amazing VintageSciFi Month!

Posted on: January 31, 2013

Vintage SF badge
I knew Vintage Month was going to be awesome, but ya’ll broke the mold this time!

20 bloggers posted over 40 reviews and discussions, there were guest posts, a giveaway (which still has a few hours left in it, go win yourself some goodies!), and new bonds formed in the blogging community. Wow people, is there anything we can’t do?  The only bad thing was that there was so much going on I couldn’t keep up with it! I wasn’t even able to comment on all the reviews, and I do apologize for that.

And I couldn’t have done any of this without YOU.  Give yourselves a round of applause for rocking it out AGAIN. Here’s a listing of everyone I know of who participated. If you should be on this list, and aren’t, shout at the top of your lungs in the comments, and I’ll fix it up.

tomtificate
Marvelous tales
Over the Effing Rainbow
Nashville Bookworm
Bitter Tea And Mystery
Coffee Cookies and Chili Peppers
There’s a right broad
Pan Spectrum Analyzer
Two Dudes in an Attic
Lynn’s Book Blog
Impressions of a Reader
Stainess Steel Droppings
The Finch and Pea
You Can Never Have Too Many Books
Ready When You Are, C.B.
Geeky Daddy
Science Fiction and Other Suspect Ruminations
Geek Banter
Dab of Darkness
Science Fiction times

Whether you posted one book review or ten, or did a discussion post or a guest post, or tweeted or retweeted or simply lurked and enjoyed what you saw on other people’s blogs, I give you my heartfelt and sincerest thanks for spending the darkest days of winter with me and being willing to read some crunchy paperbacks by authors we’d never heard of.

I got some totally sweet stuff coming up in February too. A little less in the crunchy-dead-person department, but still, rockin’ cool stuff is heading our way! (also, spring might be heading our way, which is also damn cool)

6 Responses to "Another Amazing VintageSciFi Month!"

MMM, sweet stuff coming up in February. Can hardly wait.
Thanks so much for hosting Vintage Sci Fi again – I didn’t read as many books as I would have liked but I did fit a few classics in plus a few films – all inspired by this. I love to be brought out of my comfort zone and this sort of event is just the time to do so. Not to mention being surprised by some of the reading experiences. I never expected to really like The Moon is a Harsh Mistress or Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep. You could say I even went into it with the wrong attitude and yet my opinion was turned around for both. The other surprise was I was planning on reading a couple of olde worlde type sci-fi books – 20,000 Leagues and Mysterious Island – and yet in spite of the fact that I expected to like these and went into them both with positive expectations they didn’t really capture my attention. So there you go. Things getting all turned on their head. Anyway, end of dissertation.
Short version = thanks :D
Lynn

Its a very nice little event. Breaks peeps out of their routine (unless they’re reading vintage stuff all the time…) and gives them a guide to wade into the warm water with. I was rather shocked to see the reviews appear at a prodigious rate, too. That’s a lot of reading and reviewing.

Thanks for your efforts.

Indeed, the thanks are due for you! This was my first community based project and I’m glad I participated. Thanks to you, I’ve met some cool people and found some new books to read.

Thank you! I had a wonderful time looking for oldies to read, and unfortunately didn’t read or review everything I planned! Next year I will prepare better for this event. I did add many books to my list, loved reading all the great reviews and will be visiting blogs and reading the posts I missed for a while. :)

Thank you for hosting such an awesome event. This is my second year playing, and once again I have a new-to-me author love because I explored some vintage SF. Thanks!

First time participant here, only managed to read a half-dozen or so for Vintage SciFi Month but (most) of the ones I chose were pretty cool… and it’s always awesome to read other peoples’ thoughts on these great old books. :D

https://yellowedandcreased.wordpress.com/

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

Looking for my reviews of the Hugo winners and nominees? Start here.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,079 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Bookstore Bookblogger Connection

You're a book blogger too? Or a Bookseller? Come get involved in a wonderful new project Bookstore Bookblogger Connection!

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
