the Little Red Reviewer

Recent radio segment on Anthologies

Posted on: December 18, 2012

My buddy John and I recently recorded another radio segment for your listening pleasure!  This time we talk about science fiction short stories. How much scifi short story love can we cram into less than 5 minutes? Listen and find out!

WMUK Arts & More December 17th 2012

 

WMUK Color Logo

3 Responses to "Recent radio segment on Anthologies"

Interesting, but too short! For my own picks of AF-F short story collections, I’s start with Bradbury’s THE MARTIAN CHRONICLES and THE ILLUSTRATED MAN. And Robert Heinlein’s THE GREEN HILLS OF EARTH and WALDO & MAGIC INC. Also a must is the more recent (2001) THE COLLECTED STORIES OF ARTHUR C. CLARK. Poul Anderson’s THE EARTH BOOK OF STORMGATE is another must of classic SF. If it’s hard to find, NESFA has published three outstanding volumes of Poul Anderson’s short works. For early S&S, Fritz Leiber’s stories of Fafhrd and the Grey Mouser, several titles, are great fun. I’d also highly recommend the recent 50 IN 50 by Harry Harrison. That barely scratches the surface of “older” story collections, and as you point out there are many newer ones, and by “newer: I mean since 1990 or so. There is a wealth of excellent, entertaining, worthy short stories in both SF and Fantasy fields available, old and new. Great stuff!

Like

I’ll have to convince the radio station to give us an hour show next time. and you can be our guest! :D

. . . hmmm… or maybe I should get a mic and start podcasting? you’ll still be a guest on my show.

Like

That’s a nice compliment, thanks. I’m kinda old fashioned (no surprise to you) in my SF favorites. In the on-line Locus poll, I’ve read 90& of the first 200 20th century novels, but only about 10& of the 21st century novels. I better get going…

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,097 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Bookstore Bookblogger Connection

You're a book blogger too? Or a Bookseller? Come get involved in a wonderful new project Bookstore Bookblogger Connection!

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
