the Little Red Reviewer

My precious. . . The Hobbit read along, part 1

Posted on: August 13, 2011

Welcome to our The Hobbit read-along, part one! These questions are for chapters 1-7.  Post your answers here, or on your own site.  If you do a post, leave your link in the comments, and Geeky Daddy and myself will edit our co-hosting pages to include a direct link to your post.

Interested in joining us in our epic journey through JRR Tolkien’s The Hobbit and  The Lord of the Rings ? It’s easy! Check out the reading schedule here, sign up here, or here, or leave a link in the comments to your blog discussions post, and we’ll add you to the mailing list.

This week’s questions were provided by Geeky Daddy:

1. What were your expectations starting The Hobbit ?(If you never read it before)
(For those who have read the Hobbit) Did you learn something during reading that you missed from the last time you read it?

2. What would have been your thoughts if 13 strangers came in your house and wanted to fed and housed in a moments notice?

3. What has been your favorite part of Bilbo’s journey so far?

4. Where do you think the group would be without Gandalf?

Visit these other blogs for their discussions:

Geeky Daddy
.
.

My answers, after the jump!

my preciousssss. . . .

1. What were your expectations starting The Hobbit ?(If you never read it before)
(For those who have read the Hobbit) Did you learn something during reading that you missed from the last time you read it?

I think I tried reading this about 8 years ago, and at the time I could barely get past the first chapter.  I wasn’t into fantasy at the time, and my preconceived notions this time around were that it would still be too “high fantasy” for my tastes, the language would be too ornamented, and as much as I love music in real life, most fictional music/lyrics/poetry has never done much for me, so I was worried the songs would be a total turn off.

I was hoping that this time around I’d enjoy it more. I’ve got more fantasy under my belt, and the hopes that I’m mature enough to giving something a chance even if it’s not my cup of tea right at the start.

Something that surprised me, as I got further into the book is that it reads like something designed to be read out loud. I feel like I’m listening to a grandpa tell a story to a bunch of grand children of all ages sitting at his feet.

The songs still didn’t do anything for me. there’s something off about that meter!

2. What would have been your thoughts if 13 strangers came in your house and wanted to fed and housed in a moments notice?

Ha! if 13 strangers could fit into my tiny apartment I’d be shocked! and if they wanted to be fed? I don’t even own 13 plates! I’m suddenly reminded of one of those reality tv shows about families with lots and lots of children, that they go through an entire loaf of bread, an entire jar of peanut butter, and an entire jar of jam everyday at lunchtime. Even worse, I’m no where near as polite as Bilbo,  so I don’t even think the 2nd stranger would even make it through my front door before I demanded to know what was going on.

3. What has been your favorite part of Bilbo’s journey so far?

Gollum!  He’s so wonderfully creepy!  and tragic. You can really sympathize with Bilbo, who doesn’t know if he should hate Gollum or feel sorry for him.  There’s all this lovely foreshadowing as well, about who and what Gollum is, and I do loves me some foreshadowing.

4. Where do you think the group would be without Gandalf?

Even more lost! and most likely dinner in some trolls’ belly. Gandalf does always seem to show up right at the perfect time, some nice little deus ex machina going on there.  I do wonder why Gandalf chose Bilbo in the first place.  Because he’s got a bit of that Took adventurer blood in him?  Because he’s naive and has no idea what he’s getting himself into?

and by the way, my husband was raised on the 70’s animated Hobbit movie.  He’s been singing the songs from it all week.

I’m also reading the first Jim Butcher Harry Dresden novel along side The Hobbit, it just kinda worked out that way. Where would contemporary urban fantasy (And all the wizard jokes that come with) be without Gandalf?

3 Responses to "My precious. . . The Hobbit read along, part 1"

I feel the same way when I read this book. I imagine that my grandfather is reading it to me!

You are nicer than me, I don’t think the first stranger would get into my apartment.

Like

I must say I love you responses to you questions.I sure do hope that your hubby is not that bad of a singer..:) I must say that it is kind of weird that I just recently started reading the Dresden Files. It just arrived via library on Friday.

I am glad that you are enjoying the Hobbit.

Like

I’ve always preferred ‘The Hobbit’ to LotR. (I absolutely love the movies, though.) I think it’s because the book has such a warm, intimate feel — rather than a massive, epic scope, it’s a focused look at an unlikely hero. As for chapters 1-7…I think ‘Riddles in the Dark’ might be my favourite. There is something great about how it combines eeriness with humour, and the odd tension during the actual riddle battle. The reader can sense the danger Bilbo is in, but the comic undertones are also undeniable. (Also, Gollum is simply cool, and one of Tolkien’s best creations.)

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,165 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
