the Little Red Reviewer

Lord of the Rings read along!

Posted on: August 1, 2011

Our Dune read along was such a success (thanks to YOU of course!) that I’ve decided to jump right in and do it again. I was so very impressed by the response and how many people were interested in diving into a classic SF book that maybe wasn’t their cup of tea, that I felt it’s only fair for me to do the same for a classic Fantasy series.

Yes, yours truly, who just over a year ago swore she would never read fantasy because she hated it (and then I read The Name of the Wind, and wow did that change everything!) will not only be reading The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings this summer and fall, but co-hosting a read along with Geeky Daddy.  

I hope you’ll join us on our trip to Middle Earth, whether you’ve read LOTR a million times, once, or like me, have only seen the movies. personally, I couldn’t be more excited about the whole thing!

We’ll be taking three to four weeks to read and discuss each book, with discussions starting on Saturdays. Here’s the tentative schedule for starting each book:

The Hobbit-August 8
Fellowship of the Ring-September 1
The Two Towers-October 1
Return of the King-November 1
Children of Hurin- December 1

Geeky Daddy and I will be taking turns hosting guided discussions.  We hope you’ll join us.   To receive the guided discussion questions, just leave a reply here or on Geeky Daddy’s website.  Even if you don’t the mailing list, you are welcome to read along and post your thoughts.

 
14 Responses to "Lord of the Rings read along!"

I have been saying i need to re-read the LOTR for a while now. Thanks for giving me a kick in the pants. lol

Like

I’ll have to keep this on my list. I hope I can fit it in. I just read the Hobbit so I probably won’t join until Sept.

Like

Oh, this is a great idea! I have been planning a reread… I was never a huge fan of The Hobbit, but I might join in for the trilogy

Like

Please put me on your mailing list for the LOTR read-along.

Like

Can I be on the mailing list? I really want to try to keep up with this! It’s been years since I read these books and I’ve been meaning to revisit them. I never manage to read as much as I want to for fun when school starts back, though. Maybe I can at least manage The Hobbit.

Like

Everyone, consider yourself on the list. :) so many re-readers, and the read along is being hosted by two LOTR virgins, we’re sure to have some laughs! :)

No worries if you only want to participate in part of it, join in whenever we get to your favorite book.

Like

YES! I’ve been meaning to re-read these for about a year and a half, so this is a great excuse. Sign me up!

Like

What an awesome idea! I’m reading for school, so I cannot guarantee I will have a chance to participate. I haven’t read them and I love the idea!

Like

I can for sure do Return of the King and Children of Hurin. May try to get Two Towers in as well. No matter what, will you please include me in all the emails because these are some of my favorite books and I would love to participate in the discussion.

I am also willing to come up with questions for Return and/or Children if you need volunteers.

Like

Hmmm, I might be in! I just re-read Fellowship and Two Towers, but it would be fun to meet your deadlines and come in for discussion. Sounds like a plan!

Like

[...] Wanna join our read-along for Lord of the Rings? starts this coming week, one book per month till we finish. Sign up here. [...]

Like

have to say I always preferred The Lord of the Rings trilogy to the Hobbit…but I’m game…

Like

I am going to join in. I need and want to read this series but have failed to so. I also have a goal to be ready to read Return of the King by November so this read along fits in perfect for that goal. I will,however, join in on this fun starting September with the first LOTR book.

Like

I’m re-reading the LOTR right now for the gazillionth time. I’ll be glad to drop in now and again too.

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,136 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
