the Little Red Reviewer

vacation meme #2: favorite book of the last year (or so)

Posted on: July 22, 2011

sick of me clogging your feeds yet?  what do I care, I’m living it up up in the hills and enjoying wine and chocolate! and hopefully some mini-golf.  Disc golf would be cool too.

anyways, on to our next “year or so” meme!

What are some of your favorite books that you’ve read in the last year or so?

It doesn’t have to be a new book, just something that was new-for-you that you read in the last year or so.  I think my faves would include:

The Habitation of the Blessed, by Catherynne Valente

Embassytown, by China Mieville

Swordspoint by Ellen Kushner

Yarn, by Jon Armstrong

another random bookshelf photo:

Tags:

4 Responses to "vacation meme #2: favorite book of the last year (or so)"

I hope you are enjoying both the wine and the chocolate. :)

Favorite books over the last year or so?

Name of the Wind ~Patrick Rothfuss
Ship Breaker ~Paolo Bacigalupi
Sleight of Hand ~Peter S. Beagle
Among Others ~Jo Walton
A Red Herring Without Mustard ~Alan Bradley (next one, “I Am Half-Sick of Shadows” comes out Nov 1st, woo-hoo!)
Fuzzy Nation ~John Scalzi
Cyberabad Days ~Ian McDonald
Starman Jones ~Robert A. Heinlein

I could go on, but should probably stop.

Like

My favorite book last year was KRAKEN by China Mieville — I’m really looking forward to EMBASSYTOWN, but am sort of saving it.

This year so far it’s been WHEN THE KILLING’S DONE, but TC Boyle

Enjoy your mini-golf!

Like

Good question! Hope you’re enjoying your vacation. My favorite recent discoveries are the books of Garth Nix and Terry Pratchett. Also would include the Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (love David Mitchell) and The Invisible Bridge. Maybe Game of Thrones and Ship Breaker too. I tried to get into City and the City by Mieville, it just didn’t happen for me.

Like

Glad that you liked Habitation of the Blessed. I bought it weeks ago at a Borders closing sale, but haven’t read it or any of Valente’s books before. I hear wonderful things about her writing, so it should be good.

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,160 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
