the Little Red Reviewer

vacation meme #1

Posted on: July 21, 2011

I’m on a vacation up north for a really, really long weekend. Not only do I have no idea what kind of internet connection I’ll have up here, but if I play my cards right I’ll be drinking wine on the beach or in a hot tub instead of internetting anyways.  so in lieu of even more fun with tenses,  I prescheduled a bunch of posts for you. Also, I plan to torture you with badly taken random photos.

only because I love you.  and i know how much you love my posts clogging your feeds!

This blog has been around just about a year, so these are all going to be “a year, more or less” themed meme type things. Can I call something a meme? doesn’t it have to filter through the web and become that on it’s own? eh, i digress.

what awesome rock-your-world new-to-you authors have you discovered in the last year or so?

I’ve been lucky enough to discover a metric ton of awesome new and new-to-me authors who totally rocked my world in the last year or so – Lauren Beukes, Robin Hobb, Jasper Kent, Jon Armstrong, Catherynne Valente, Patrick Rothfuss, Lavie Tidhar, Ellen Kushner, and Mark Hodder, just to name a few.   Some of them have been around for a while, I’m almost embarrassed that it took me this long to find them.

I don’t know what I would have done without those folks. Not enjoys as many books as I have, that’s for sure.

 

random photo of one of my  bookshelves:

Tags: ,

6 Responses to "vacation meme #1"

You have a ton of fun on your vacation. I sent you the Dune Part III Questions. I don’t think I have Geeky Daddy’s email so either you can forward them to him or, Geeky Daddy, if you read this, shoot me an email at poegeek (at) gmail (dot) com.

Now, on to your question.

My kick-ass author discoveries during the past year (with the book that hooked me) have been:

Patrick Rothfuss (Name of the Wind)
Jo Walton (Among Others)
C.W. Gusewelle (On the Way to Other Country)
Ransom Riggs (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children)
Wil Wheaton (Just a Geek)
Helen Grant (The Vanishing of Katarina Linden)
Greg Bear (Hull Zero Three)
Tanya Huff (A Confederation of Valor)
George R.R. Martin (Game of Thrones)
Jonathan Safron Foer (Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close)

As I type that list I find myself wanting to drop everything and do a massive re-read! Luckily I have more books from most of these authors already on my shelves waiting to be read.

Like

In the recent months I’ve been working very hard to read authors I am not familiar with instead of re-reading “the classics”.

I discovered and LOVED Patrick Rothfuss, I cannot gush enough about “The Name of the WInd” and I am currently reading Nathan Lowell’s Trader stories (Quarter Share, Half Share etc…) and they are excellent!

Like

Frank, you reminded me that I’ve heard of these stories (but had forgotten) and everything I’ve heard in the past has been positive. I need to write Lowell’s name down so that I can remember.

Like

That is an AWESOME list! I love Robin Hobb… And Patrick Rothfuss, even if I haven’t read the sequel yet. And, Catherynne Valente!

Let’s see here…
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Started reading Sherlock Holmes this year)
Jean Webster (Daddy-Long-Legs)
H.G. Wells (Only The Invisible Man so far… Must read more!)
Gail Z Martin (The Sworn was really good… Must read more from her, too!)
Charlotte Bronte (Finally read Jane Eyre…)
Steven Kluger (My Most Excellent Year was all kinds of awesome!)
Deborah Harkness, Jo Walton, Kate Lord Brown, etc. Oh, and George R.R. Martin.

More recently, Melanie Benjamin and Steven Millhauser are my two fav discoveries for July.

Like

Yes, I’d have to add Doyle to my list as well as I read my first within this past year. Good stuff!

Like

There’s probably a whole bunch, but the two who stick in my mind, mianly because I encountered both ladies at Worldcon are: Cat Valente and Seanan McGuire, particularly Seanan, so glad Feed got a Hugo nomination!

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,165 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
