the Little Red Reviewer

And all I got was. . .

Posted on: June 5, 2011

I couldn’t make it to World Steam Expo this year, but some good friends of mine, N & R, did.

N & R got to spend some time with these lovely folks,

Oh, those folks? They’re only Phil & Kaja Foglio, the creators of some of my favorite steampunk graphic novels and this gem of a novel as well.

My friends went to World Steam Expo, and all I got was . . . .

 

Some autographed postcards!!!!

 

Behold the awesomeness!

 

and yes, I totally had a nerdgasm when I opened the envelope!

I gotta go buy me some of those floating picture frame thingys. . . .

4 Responses to "And all I got was. . ."

I’m so thrilled for you! I would have been pretty psyched by opening that envelope as well. I especially love the Tom Kidd cover of the novel. It is great to have friends who will let you enjoy their con experiences vicariously by getting you cool swag.

I adore Phil & Kaja! When I met them at Emerald City Comicon this year, I had to let Phil know that I’ve been following his work since Phil & Dixie appeared in the back of Dragon Magazine.

After getting his autograph, I practically begged him to make an expansion for his card game Xenophile, published several years ago. Now that is a fun game! Naughty, but fun…

Carl – and yesterday I picked up a frame at the craft store! my autograph wall has begun! I gotta find a way to repay my buddies. . . .

Hippogriff – My husband used to follow Phil & Dixie in Dragon Mag, and that’s how i got introduced to his artwork. and you’re right, his naughtier stuff is way funny! which sometimes makes Girl Genius even funnier, looking for any kind of naughty subtext. ;)

Cool! I have a scrapbook that sits in my nerd cave that has several autographs, mostly from SF tv show stars that I met at various conventions. On a few occasions I have called upon friends to do me the same kind of favor because I couldn’t attend. I have a signed picture by Anne Francis that a friend got for me and another took my hardback copy of Neverwhere, many years back and a large sized edition of the Vess illustrated Stardust and had Gaiman and Vess sign them for me. It was very cool of him to do that. I have since been able to meet Gaiman myself and get stuff signed.

join the conversation

About this redhead, etc.

Redhead is a snarky, non-politically correct 30-something who reviews mostly science fiction and fantasy and talks about all sorts of other fun scifi and fantasy geekery. She once wrote a haiku that included the word triskaidekaphobia.

This blog contains adult language and strong opinions. The best way to contact her outside of this blog is twitter, where she is @redhead5318 .

2013 Hugo Awards

Looking for my reviews of the Hugo winners and nominees? Save time. Click here.

Bookstore Bookblogger Connection

You're a book blogger too? Or a Bookseller? Come get involved in a wonderful new project Bookstore Bookblogger Connection!

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,003 other followers

2013 Sci-Fi Experience

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Vintage SF

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
