the Little Red Reviewer

New Aquisitions

Posted on: June 1, 2011

Well, I guess most of these can’t rightly be called “aquisitions”,  since I got more than half of them from the library:

Wow, that’s a crappy picture! Book pr0n it ain’t!  That’s what I get for taking pictures when half asleep. oh well.

The World House: Restoration, by Guy Adams  is an ARC from Angry Robot books that will hit your local bookshelves in July. It looks wonderfully creepy.  Stay tuned for reviews of Guy Adam’s first book, The World House, and this new one in the next few months.

M John Harrison’s  Viriconium – Three novellas and a handful of short stories taking place in his Viriconium world. A post-post-post apocalyptic Earth where everything but surreality is scarce. Harrison is known for dreamy, surreal prose and storylines that overlap in time and space.  I read this book about five years ago, I hope it’s as good as I remember.

Thanks to recommendations from @Mascheph and some discussions on Gav Reads, I picked up Ellen Kusher’s Swordspoint and Lynn Flewelling’s Luck in the Shadows along with Anthony Burgess’s The Wanting Seed.   On first blush, the Burgess looks the most interesting.

Why is this copy of The Wanting Seed in a zip lock bag, you ask?  Because I got it randomly at a garage sale a few days ago. And wow was it musty and smelly!  Thus the zippy bag and baking soda. Book should be not-to-stinky in a few days.

Don’t tell anyone, but sometimes when I get super cheapo stinky books (this one cost me a quarter), after I read them I throw them out.  If the book is really good, I’ll buy a not-stinky copy or get it from the library.  I just don’t want to fill up my bookshelves with stinky stuff that’s falling apart, you know?

If you have read and or reviewed any of these, please let me know in the comments.

4 Responses to "New Aquisitions"

I wasn’t reviewing books when I read Luck in the Shadows (many years ago now), but I can remember really liking it and it’s sequel. I also read Swordspoint some time ago, it was okay, but ultimately wasn’t what I thought it would be. It’s kind of revered by readers.

Like

I started Swordspoint last night. only about 40 pages in, but I’m enjoying it so far!

Like

Nice. You sure do read and review the books you get faster (sooner?) than I do! Often it’s months – sometimes years – before I get to a book. Sometimes I tend to hold myself up by deciding to read a lead-in. I’m rereading Little Fuzzy before reading Fuzzy Nation and I might read The Other Human Race, the 2nd H. Beam Piper Fuzzy book, before FN as well, so suddenly I’m reading 3 books to finish one.

I’m doing the same thing with Benjamin Hoff’s The House on the Point which I just got. I’ve decided to reread the original The House on the Cliff and the 1959 rewritten version before I read Hoff’s version. Again, a 3 for 1. At that rate…

Like

It is sometimes months before I get to read something, but this particular episode of “New Aquisitions” is rather time sensitive, as most of them are library books!

But there’s a few books that have been sitting in my supposed priority pile for a good 6 months now.

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,124 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
