the Little Red Reviewer

Cool Sh*t Thursday

Posted on: February 24, 2011

Wordless Wednesday? Photoshop Phridays?  

I dub today to be Cool Shit Thursday.  Last night I finished Kameron Hurley’s (@kameronhurley) new novel God’s War, and I haven’t started the review yet.  I feel bad that I haven’t posted here in a few days,  so here is some cool shit for you.   It’s all interesting, I promise.

Impatient?  scroll to the bottom.  There is something there you will WANT to see.    TRUST ME.

We had an ice storm earlier this week.  Nothing really out of the ordinary for our part of the country. Anyway, a HUGE tree came down in a local playground . . .  

It’s hard to tell from the photo, but that downed tree is at least 40 feet long. Guess no one’ll be playing there for a while.

I picked up some goodies at my local indie bookstore today (hi John!  hi Jim!  hi Tinker!).  Please excuse the crappy photo:

That would be Agatha H and the Airship City by Phil & Kaja Foglio, and a Doctor Who audio book called Pest Control, read by the one, the only, David Tennant, who I’m madly in love with. Thanks to  twitter peeps @icebergink, @christinajl_gb and @Davysitter who helped me join the 21st century and find audiobook directories by narrator! 

Here’s where things get interesting.  While we were at the bookstore,  John says he wants to show me something. 

And this is what he had:

Isn’t it beautiful? Just look at it.  can’t you already hear the wind whooshing over stone walls, feel the cobblestones under your feet, and smell autumn leaves falling to the ground?  I know I can.

and it weighs about 20 pounds.

6 Responses to "Cool Sh*t Thursday"

Glad to have helped ya find the Tennant DW audio books, I have them all and they are all totally worth it!

Also…SO JEALOUS of your copy of WMF!! Enjoy it!!

Like

don’t be too jealous. i didn’t buy it.

that photo was taken at the bookstore. They got in the copies they ordered from the publisher, but they can’t actually sell them till the release date.

I didn’t buy it. Didn’t even reserve a copy yet. but that’s another story. . . which I think I shall post about tomorrow.

Like

Girl Genius!

That is, indeed, Cool Sh*t.

Like

I’m being eaten up by jealousy at seeing everyone else getting their hands on The Wise Man’s Fear and knowing that it will be a while before I can get myself a copy. Perhaps the hefty weight explains the price of the book, which is currently a little too steep for me.

Like

Very cool! I just started reading Name of the Wind this week so that I can do a buddy read of Wise Man’s Fear with a friend of mine who is a big fan. I’m enjoying it thus far.

We are having our own ice storm right now. Yay us!!!

Like

My saving grace about WMF is that I will be buying a Kindle in the near future, and it will likely be my first eBook purchase to take away on vacation with me in April…but I’m still jealous of those blogger that got review copies.

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,165 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
