the Little Red Reviewer

library distractions – have you read any of these?

Posted on: January 29, 2011

I’m currently about half way through Stephen Lawhead’s Hood.  Like much of what he writes, it’s far too atmospheric to blast through in a day and a half.  If I can finish it tomorrow, I’ll try to get a review up on Monday.  I’ve also got a beautiful Mark Hodder Arc that’s going to be my first read of February.

And because I have a bucket of other books I’d really like to get to, what did I do today?  I went to the library, of course!!

and this is what I came home with:

Ignoring the sofa upholstery that’s so ugly as to be legendary, we have the following:

Not from the library, but borrowed from a friend, is The Meq, by Steve Cash. first book of a series.

Home Fires by Gene Wolfe – because come on, it’s Gene Wolfe!  I haven’t read a ton by him, but everything I’ve read by him I liked. I keep wanting to call it Home Fries, but maybe that’s just cuz I’m hungry?

The Warded Man, by Peter V Brett – actually got this for the husband, but I’ll probably give it a shot too. I’ve heard good and bad about it.

Flatterland by Ian Stewart – with a subtitle of “Like Flatland, only more so”, I hope it’s more readable than the original Flatland. I’ve always been a fan of the original Abbott, but much of the satiric undertones has always been lost on me. Having a plot that’s “math and geometry” is hard to pull off. Let’s hope this isn’t an epic fail.

The Habitation of the Blessed, by Catherine Valente – everyone says this is awesome. Also, the book is very pretty.

 

Do any of these look interesting to you?  Have you read any of them?  if you’ve reviewed of these books on your blog, post a link in the comments.

11 Responses to "library distractions – have you read any of these?"

Damn you woman! You have Home Fires!!! :)

I’ve been going to the bookstore every day this week waiting to see it on the shelves and neither chain has it yet. I also think I ordered a reviewer copy of it from Tor as well AND I am second in the library queue for it but the library doesn’t have it yet either. Ahhhh!!!! It is the book I am really wanting to read next.

Not that I’m jealous or anything, because of course I’m not. I’m sure the book is going to be stupid anyway. Yes, that’s it. Sure. I don’t think I’d bother reading it if I were you. That Gene Wolfe is a hack.

Ahhhh!!!! I cannot believe I am not reading this book right now.

I have The Habitation of the Blessed out from my library at the moment. It looks good but I haven’t gotten to it yet. I’m a little on the fence about Valente’s writing style. Sometimes it works for me and sometimes it doesn’t.

I’ve heard really good things about Wolfe’s Home Fires. I’ll be interested to find out what you think of it!

oh, poor Carl! I wasn’t even looking for Home Fires, it just happened to be on the New shelves, so I grabbed it like a rabid squirrel! hmm…you could inter-library loan it, maybe? but yes, I’m sure it will suck. ;)

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it will either show up on bookstore shelves or at the library for me next week. As if I don’t already have enough (read: too much) to read.

Librarians do a pretty good job of identifying the best books. It never hurts to go browse in a library.

Admittedly, I haven’t read any of these, so I’ll have to wait for your reviews. :)

I’ve read The Meq, interesting idea. I haven’t yet read Habitation of the Blessed, but a friend did a review which I posted on my blog.

I just posted on the review on your site. Similar to Mylene’s experience, the physical beauty of the book grabbed my attention, especially the feathery edged pages. I’ve always had a weakness for those feathery edged pages. a single page with a feathered edge doesn’t make much sense, but 300 of them together is a tactile and visual work of art.

Haven’t read any of these, but I do have Warded Man sitting on my shelf, tempting me. And I really, really want to read Habitation of the Blessed. It looks so interesting!

I just snagged Home Fires from the library. I’m hoping to get time to read it next week.

I can hardly believe Gene Wolfe is still writing. He’s had stuff out there ever since I can remember, and that’s a long time.
I enjoyed The Warded Man, and posted a review on my blog a while back. The sequel, The Desert Spear, wasn’t quite as good. Keep meaning to pick up the third book one of these days.

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,081 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Bookstore Bookblogger Connection

You're a book blogger too? Or a Bookseller? Come get involved in a wonderful new project Bookstore Bookblogger Connection!

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
