the Little Red Reviewer

Bigger on the Inside. . . .

Posted on: January 24, 2011

What’s bigger on the inside than it is on the outside, and can take you anywhere  in the universe at a moments notice?   And sometimes even out of the universe, or to a totally different multiverse?

This one’s camouflage happens to be blue.

Here’s a hint:

the answer, after the jump!

Acceptable answers are Book, and TARDIS!  Good job, and thanks for playing backwards Jeopardy today!

And Mom, if you’re reading this, I finally decided book covers are cool.

craft foam + silver magic marker + staples and a straight edge = TARDIS book cover.   Took about an hour, start to finish, and that was WITH me breaking the magic marker by accident and having to squeeze out the silver paint and paint it on with a mini paintbrush.  The things I do for art and Tardises (tardisii?), I’m tellin’ ya.

however, I learned the hard way that craft foam isn’t very absorbent, and the silver ink/paint stuff never 100% dried.  Next time (oh yes, there will be a next time!)  I’m thinking denim fabric and silver embroidery thread.  Might take me freakin’ forever, but will probably be more forviging of mistakes, and it might even survive a trip through the washing machine.

11 Responses to "Bigger on the Inside. . . ."

Of course, the first thing I thought of when I saw “bigger on the inside” was TARDIS. Glad to know I was on the right track. :D

Also…I love this. I admire your creativity!

Like

Too, too fun! Well done. Now can you get to work on making me a real TARDIS? :)

Like

A girl after my own heart. A TARDIS post is BOUND to get my attention. :)

Like

TARDIS book cover = BRILLIANT

Like

I think I need to make one of these, stat.

Like

it’s a project I’ve been thinking about for a while. And doesn’t a book take you to new, undiscovered worlds, blow you mind for a few hundred pages, and then deliver you safe and sound back home?

Like

Want! That is an awesome custom cover :D Nicely done :)

Like

Very nice! I wonder if you’ve got a potential product to sell?

Like

lol, let’s see if I can repeat it first, and in materials that don’t leave your hands silver!

Like

When I saw the pictures (before reading the post) I wondered where you got it and how I would be able to get one!

Like

[...] I may need to make another book cover, perhaps a blue one (I bought the silver embroidery thread just for that!) because that spidery looking thing is [...]

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,165 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
