the Little Red Reviewer

Coming soon and comfort reads

Posted on: December 29, 2010

fun stuff first!

In the pipeline is:

- Review of Kaaron Warren’s Walking the Tree. I pursuaded my other half to read this book as well, so I’m hoping for a he said/she said joint review. Walking The Tree will be available in January from Angry Robot Books.

- A give away of a gently read copy of Warren’s Walking the Tree.  I’ve never done a giveaway before, so I’m excited to see how it works out.

- Spotlight on an indie press, a review, and possibly another giveaway.

What’s the photo for the mac and cheese all about? mmm…. comfort food. read all about it after the jump.

 

 

Reviews have been slim on Little Red lately because I’ve been in a major reading slump.   I expected with so much time off work I’d be reading non-stop and having a ball and catching up on things, and the exact opposite has happened.  I just want to sit in front of the boob tube and watch Doctor Who and 30 Rock.   I’ll pick up a book, read 100 pages, put it back on the shelf.  Even graphic novels aren’t holding my attention right now.

Totally.  Not. Cool.

So I picked up my comfort read, Scott Lynch’s The Lies of Locke Lamora.  What’s a comfort read?  it’s just like a comfort food, except you probably shouldn’t eat it. Scott Lynch (who I am actively web-stalking) is my go-to guy when I need a good comfort read. Something that will make me snort, cheer, worry, bite my nails, love the good guys, hate the bad guys, and have the gods damnest best time ever.   This is at least my 5th or 6th time reading The Lies of Locke Lamora,  to be followed by probably my 5th time reading the 2nd book in the series, Red Seas under Red Skies.

All in exciting lead up to the 3rd book in Lynch’s Gentlemen Bastard series, The Republic of Thieves, hopefully available in February.  Wow, maybe I’m not in as much of a reading slump as I thought?

When you get into a reading slump, what’s your comfort read?

Tags:

3 Responses to "Coming soon and comfort reads"

Good question. Sometimes I got back to some of my favorite YA reads by Gordan Korman (his early stuff) or if I’m in the mood for a romance I’ll read C.L Wilson’s Lord of the Fading Land. Though the books I turn to the most often are Bill Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods or Peter Mayle’
s books about Provence (any will do). I’m pretty sure that Ruth Reichl’s Garlic and Sapphires will also become a popular comfort read for me.

Like

Ruth Reichl’s Garlic and Sapphires is definately a comfort read!! one of my favorite foodie books, AND it has recipes, AND it’s hilarous!!

Like

I know! I’ve already made two of the recipes in the book and the day after I finished it I rushed to Jerusalem to buy her memoir, which I had seen at the second-hand bookstore. It was just such a fun book to read.

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,235 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
