the Little Red Reviewer

Graphic Novel November comes to an end.

Posted on: November 30, 2010

I can’t believe it’s the end of November!!  When did that happen?

It happened sometime after we talked about over 20 graphic novel and manga series here on the Little Red. twenty series? more than 25 posts?  Personally, I think that’s pretty cool. And it sure blew up the words “manga” and “graphic novel” in my word cloud. I wonder how long it’ll take everything else to catch up. 

Does that mean this is the end of graphic novels and manga here on Little Red?  Hell to the no!  Thanks to discussing graphic novels with other bloggers,  I’ve got copies of Maus II, Blankets, Persepolis and a bucket of other goodies screaming READ ME!!  And they will be read! I’ve got more Phil Foglio and Ai Yazawa to publicly drool over!   I’m just not going to torture you with  it every day. Links to discussions of graphic novels, comics, manga, and all things visual will always be able to be found under the Manga/Graphic Novels tab at the top of the page.

As much as I love graphic novels and all their iterations . . .  I am very excited to back to the business of novels. scifi, fantasy, steampunk, weird stuff, speculative stuff, more weird stuff. You know, the good stuff.  Reading a quicky graphic novel nearly every day in November actually freed me up to read more speculative fiction, so I’ve got some treats lined up for you!  In the next week or so you can look forward to reviews of novels by Lavie Tidhar, Joe Abercrombie, George R R Martin, Mary Doria Russell, Ursula K LeGuin and more. 

December is gonna be an awesome month.

How about you? 

What did you think of Graphic Novel November?  success? epic fail? somewhere in the middle? 

What reading goodies have you got on deck for December?

9 Responses to "Graphic Novel November comes to an end."

I really enjoyed your graphic novel month! It’s obvious you’re familiar with the genre, and I liked the exposure to new series I hadn’t heard of. :-)

Like

Since you mentioned George RR Martin…did you see that HBO is doing a miniseries based on the first book in the Song of Ice and Fire series?

Happy reading – have I (or anyone else) ever pointed you toward Francesca Lia Block? If not, two words: Dangerous Angels.

Like

I have been all over that HBO stuff! promos, trailers, photos. . . . but no HBO in the redheaded household. :( Hearing aboud the miniseries, and the endless waiting and waiting and waiting for book 5 has triggered me wanting to reread the whole series. I wonder who will get to the end of the series first, Martin or HBO?

I’m not familiar w/Francesca Lia Block, but i’ll be looking into her stuff!

Like

Hi,

I finally figured out how to follow your wordpress blog. :) Okay, not really – I asked another blogger friend and she told me how to do it. LOL

Anyway – here I am. And I have a question.

My 14 year old son is very into The Legend of Zelda books and the Case Closed series – are you familiar with these series and if so, do you have any suggestions for him along those same lines?

I am clueless when it comes to Anime and Manga – but I am all about the reading – and if this is what he likes to read, I’m all for it. :)

Any suggestions are appreciated.

M

Like

Hi Michelle,

unfortunately, I’m not familiar with the Zelda books or Case Closed. :(

Thinking of series with teenaged main characters that are appropriate for young adults, you might want to look at Fullmetal Alchemist, One Piece, Bleach, Ranma 1/2 .(an oldie but a goodie!) I’d suggest having him spend some time at the graphic novels shelves at the library. Pull down some volume 1’s, read the first 30 pages, see what grabs his attention.

Like

I did actually read Maus, many years ago, and was very impressed by it.
I look forward to reading your review of Lavie Tidhar’s book. I did warn you it was weird :)

Like

Love Maus – studying graphic novels because I am working on one. Anytime you want to fill me full of wisdom and advice about the graphic novel, I’d love it! Email me, comment on my site, anything. I need all the help I can get!
I cannot wait for The Song of Fire and Ice on HBO – still waiting with baited breath for the next book!
The Walking Dead has been outstanding – AMC.

Like

I thought it was really cool that you devoted a whole month to graphic novels. :)

Like

Success. :) I loved all your reviews, and some of them gave me the push I needed to explore some comics that’ve been on my radar for quite a while now.

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,235 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
