the Little Red Reviewer

Graphic Novels & Manga ’round the web

Posted on: November 12, 2010

Because I just can’t get enough of this stuff, here are some other wonderful folks saying wonderful things about wonderful graphic novels and manga.   Celebrate GraphicNovelNovember by clicking on something that looks interesting.

Graphic Policy and Manga Maniac Cafe have good things to say about the new Superman graphic novel.

I’ve been meaning to get my hands on the first volume of Y The Last Man, and Wolfshowl over at Opinions of a Wolf thinks it’s pretty cool too.

Interested in learning about another culture? check out Heather’s review of Pyongyang: A Journey in North Korea over at Book Addiction, Boing Boing talking about Tonoharu, and Sarah talking about Persepolis at So Many Books, So Little Time. I dare you to get through both volumes of Persepolis without crying.

Tasty Manga reviews abound as well!

I read the first few chapters of Vampire Knight, and cheesy title aside, I loved it. Dark, funny, creepy, sexy, good stuff. I’m happy to see the critics at The Discrimnating Fangirl are enjoying it as well.

The ladies of CLAMP always deliver, so I was thrilled to learn Darkhorse is reprinting the original Cardcaptor Sakura. Thanks to Sean at A Suitable Case for Treatment for the news & review.   I garuntee Tsubasa will make much more sense after you read Cardcaptor.

House of Five Leaves also looks really cool.

And then there are the books about comic books. Well, there is the book about comic books, and that book is The Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, by Michael Chabon. Everytime I try to talk about this book I just turn into a blabbering blob of goo, so I’m gonna give it up to Book Bloggy Blogg and Vegetalian (now, with more Mac & Cheese!) to convince you to go read The Adventures of Kavalier & Clay right now.

in closing, if I haven’t blown up your To Be Read pile, I am doing something wrong.

6 Responses to "Graphic Novels & Manga ’round the web"

Thanks for the mention, dear!

Like

My too read pile is always out of control, but getting more so because of recent editions of BPRD and Hellboy trades that were on my comic pull pile as well as the issues of Fables and House of Mystery that I am behind on that are piling up, up, up! Guess it is a good problem to have.

Like

Thanks for the shout-out! :)

Like

Did you happen to hit National Free Comic Book Day last Saturday? I scored a discount on an old Gunsmith Cats and a few “unknowns”.

Like

Julie: Gunsmith Cats is a really fun series. I also enjoyed the anime that they made. Check it out if you get a chance.

Like

Hi Julie! thanks for stopping by! This is my first year in a while that I missed free comic book. The problem with free comic book day is that I never remember to leave my debit card at home. . . I always say I’ll just grab some freebies and just one manga, and before I know it I’ve dropped $70 on Girl Genius and Ai Yazawa.

GunSmith Cats? tell me more!!!

Like

join the conversation

2014 Hugo Awards

I reviewed some Hugo nominated stuff. Click here for the list.

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,211 other followers

subscribe in a reader

Vintage SF

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
