the Little Red Reviewer

not a review

Posted on: October 28, 2010

and it’s not that kind of “not a review” post either.

for kicks, I started reading Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire again. From the beginning.

And my copy of Last Argument of Kings showed up at the library.

And we’re going out of town for a few days.

So. . . there won’t be any reviews for a coupla days.

And I’m getting ready (and super excited!!!)  for GraphicNovelNovember – a month of graphic novels, manga, comics, and other illustrated fun.

While I’m gone. . . . here’s some random questions for you to have fun with.

1. GraphicNovelNovember – what comics/manga/graphic novel series do you read, if any?

2. If I did some giveaways here, would you be interested? How important is give aways to you, as a blog reader?

3. What are you going to dress up as for Halloween? 

4. Tell me about someone else’s cool awesome speculative fiction blog.

5. Have you made chocolate covered pringles yet?

Tags:

10 Responses to "not a review"

I use the scheduling feature in blogger to pre-post reviews when I’m going away on vacation. It was funny; my mother couldn’t understand how I managed to run all over Portugal for 12 days and still post reviews every day.
Answers:
1. GraphicNovelNovember – what comics/manga/graphic novel series do you read, if any? Afraid I never really got into comics/manga/graphic novels.

2. If I did some giveaways here, would you be interested? How important is give aways to you, as a blog reader? I really just read blogs for information and entertainment, new reading ideas, etc. I don’t enter giveaways.

3. What are you going to dress up as for Halloween? A middle-aged man giving away candy to the neighborhood kids.

4. Tell me about someone else’s cool awesome speculative fiction blog. I really like Book Series Reviews (http://bookseriesreviews.blogspot.com/) for information on great paranormal fiction. I seem to have similar tastes in most of what she posts.

5. Have you made chocolate covered pringles yet? No, but I discussed them last night with my best friend. He was eating kettle chips and Whoppers simultaneously.

1. GraphicNovelNovember – what comics/manga/graphic novel series do you read, if any? – I read Hellboy, finished reading Boys over Flowers manga, and might take out the Harley Quinn comic omnibus next week….

2. If I did some giveaways here, would you be interested? How important is give aways to you, as a blog reader? – sure why not? it’s not necessary though…

3. What are you going to dress up as for Halloween? – nothing

4. Tell me about someone else’s cool awesome speculative fiction blog. – um….. dunno…I blog hop all over the place

5. Have you made chocolate covered pringles yet? ew..that sounds gross.

Who’s hosting Graphic Novels November? I certainly couldn’t do that kind of reading all month, but I think it’s great and would love to read about it. I was challenged to read a graphic novel by one of my college students, when we were discussing what makes literature literature. I took him up on the challenge and didn’t dislike the experience like I thought I would.

Wow; I never knew this Nov is a GraphicNovelNovember… I love comics! :)

Hopping by from the book blogger hop.
http://mariamaarouf.blogspot.com

Graphic Novel November will be hosted HERE, at Little Red Reviewer, and I am SUPER excited!

and having a nice weekend out of town. ;)

Whoo-Hoo Graphic Novels! Yes, if you like scifi/fantasy/genre, which you obviously do, there will be graphic novels you will love.
Some of my favorite suggestions for anyone who’s interested:

Easy Level: if you already read Gaiman, go for what made him famous: Sandman. Really long, and the first graphic novel really hits its stride at the end, but this extended exploration of Dream and his siblings is the ultimate in “literary” graphic novels. It won awards. Shakespeare and Puck are both characters. Another good transitional choice is Fables, which is about Fairy Tale characters as refugees from their world, hiding in modern America.

Intermediate: Okay, let’s move a little bit into superheroes, but not quite. Hellboy fits here, or nearly anything by Alan Moore. Watchmen is pretty heady, but very good. I’ve only read the first couple Promethea, but they were intriguing. Ex Machina is good, as is much of Y:The Last Man.

Advanced: Ready for something with colored tights? Batman: Year One and Batman: The Long Halloween are really solid, and quite accessible, I think. Maybe even better, if you’re willing to meet characters you may not know: Geoff John’s run on Teen Titans (starts with “A Kid’s Game”), or Gail Simone on Birds of Prey (starts with “Of Like Minds”). Or for a little history, The Greatest Batman Stories Ever Told is a great compilation.

Uh.. is that too many? I’ve read more…

Oh, but currently I collect and read Mouse Guard, American Vampire, and I want to start collecting Batgirl. Those are all really good too ;)

you’re gonna recognize a lot of what shows up in the next month! :)

1) I don’t read a lot of Graphic Novels, but I love Fables, however I think the next collection is being released here in December, not November.

2) I’m not a big competition enterer. I guess it depends on what you’re giving away.

3) The whole dress up for Halloween thing has never really taken on down here in Australia, so the answer there is nothing.

4) I quite enjoy Seven Foot Shelves, http://7footshelves.blogspot.com, but they haven’t reviewed anything for some time.

5) Not a big fan of Pringles at the best of times, I can’t imagine even chocolate makes them taste much better. I haven’t made Chocolate Crackles (chocolate covered Rice Bubbles) in sometime, but now I have a craving for them.

1. Graphic novels are fairly new to me. I finally read one this year.

2. Giveaways are nice for attracting new readers. I return to blogs I like whether they have them or not so for me they’re not necessary. When I have a giveaway I keep it simple. I don’t like the kind where you have to jump through hoops to enter and follow everyone and their dog.

3. No Halloween dress-up for me. I’m scary enough as it is.

4. I haven’t found too many good ones yet. I’m sure they are out there somewhere. Layers of Thought is a good one. And they have lots of cool headers that change with the seasons.

5. Chocolate covered chips are not for me.

mmmmmm chocolate covered pringles. that was seriously some very good shit.

and I was a bee for halloween. cutest. costume. ever. and cheap too.

join the conversation

About this redhead, etc.

Redhead is a snarky, non-politically correct 30-something who reviews mostly science fiction and fantasy and talks about all sorts of other fun scifi and fantasy geekery. She once wrote a haiku that included the word triskaidekaphobia.

This blog contains adult language and strong opinions. The best way to contact her outside of this blog is twitter, where she is @redhead5318 .

2013 Hugo Awards

Looking for my reviews of the Hugo winners and nominees? Save time. Click here.

Bookstore Bookblogger Connection

You're a book blogger too? Or a Bookseller? Come get involved in a wonderful new project Bookstore Bookblogger Connection!

Follow me on Twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 999 other followers

2013 Sci-Fi Experience

Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

Vintage SF

Local Friends

Categories

FTC Stuff

some of the books reviewed here were free ARCs supplied by publishers/authors/other groups. Some of the books here I got from the library. the rest I *gasp!* actually paid for. I'll do my best to let you know what's what.
